January 2017 Recap

Merry Christmas and a Very HAPPY Holidays to ALL!!!  Since it is pretty impossible to send all of our readers a gift… we made you all a beautiful Free Printable  2017 Floral Calendar that I think you are all going to love!  Pretty flowers will greet you every day of the year!  There is a …:

My reading life was off to a rocky start this year. I fell into a massive book slump and nothing sounded good. For some reason I felt a crazy amount of pressure about what book I would make my First Book of the Year and nothing felt good enough. So my first few books weren’t great, but I did manage to read quite a few books and a number of them were quite excellent.

Books Read: 15

Adult: 9
YA: 6

Favorite Book(s) I Read This Month:

9783200   27237358

Now You See Me (Lacey Flint #1) by SJ Bolton and Making Faces by Amy Harmon. Two very different kind of books, both fantastic.

Books Read in 2017 Overall: 15

15

Books Reviewed: 4

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham – 4 Stars

RoseBlood by A.G. Howard – 3 Stars

Now You See Me (Lacey Flint #1) by SJ Bolton – 4 Stars

Still Life (Chesapeake Valor #2) by Dani Pettrey – 4 Stars

Funny Fridays:

 :

January 6

January 13

January 20

January 27

Other Posts:

Happy New Year

2016 Recap: The Best, The Worst, and Stats That Only I Will Care About

The Candy Book Tag

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Underrated Books

Reviewing the Unreviewed: January 2017

Book News:

Leigh Bardugo announces new book

As a fan of both The Grisha and Six of Crows series, I was excited to hear that Bardugo is writing another book in the Grishaverse. This book is called The Language of Thorns and it’s a collection of short stories and folk tales set in the Grisha world. Am I the only one massively disappointed by this??? I don’t really care about short stories to be honest. And if there’s more stories to be told in the Grishaverse I want a Sturmhond/Kaz spinoff!!!

Looking Forward to February:

30753728

I have reviews for Making Faces and The Young Wives Club scheduled. I’m looking forward to having the day off on President’s Day. Other than that, nothing is really sticking out. Winter in Ohio is nothing to look forward to.

27 thoughts on “January 2017 Recap

  1. 15 is fantastic! Now You See Me and the rest of that series are my very favorite Sharon Bolton books, that’s actually my favorite series as well. I’m glad you liked it.

      • I think she just published (or will soon publish) a book that isn’t part of this series. I hope it doesn’t end up being like Karin Slaughter’s Will Trent series. I binged the series and then had to wait like three years for the next one while she published other books in between.

      • It has been like that:( She’s been publishing several standalones and no Lacey Flint new ones which I’m super bummed about. I’ve heard the Will Trent series is awesome…I’ve some of her standalones and they were a little too gory for me. How’s the Trent series as far as gore?

      • Well this news disappoints me! I hope her next book will be a Flint one. I really like the Will Trent series, but it definitely doesn’t shy away from the gore. They’re pretty similar in style to her standalones.

      • Well, maybe not for me then. Thanks for the info. And Sharon’s next book coming out is another standalone called Dead Woman Walking. I’m not sure why she’s taking so long on another Lacey novel but I’m bummed

  2. Pingback: February 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

