Chocolate Book Tag

I was tagged for this by Deanna over at A Novel Glimpse (she’s awesome, check her out). Thanks Deanna! I’m going to try and keep my answers to only books I have read this year.

Dark Chocolate: A book with a dark theme/content

33199875

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter. There are definitely some parts that are hard to read in this book. But it’s so good!

 

White Chocolate: A light-hearted/humorous read

32620304

Dating You / Hating You by Christina Lauren. I smiled my way through this whole book.

 

Milk Chocolate: A book with a lot of hype that you are dying to read

29749085

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo. Honestly, I don’t really care that much about the whole super hero thing that’s so popular these days, but since Leigh Bardugo wrote it, I want to read it!

A Wafer-Free KitKat: A book that surprised you lately

28965131

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough. Even though I didn’t really enjoy most of the book and figured a lot of stuff out, the very final twist definitely surprised me and I loved it!

Chocolate With a Caramel Centre: A book that makes you feel gooey on the inside

29370191

Only You by Denise Grover Swank. I was shipping Kevin and Holly so hard during this whole book.

Snickers: A book you are going nuts about

26210523

Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton. This is one of my favorite books of the year and I tell everyone to read it. READ IT!!!

Hot Chocolate with Whipped Cream and Marshmallows: A comfort read that you turn to again and again

26795352

My Lady JaneSince I’m trying to stick with books I’ve only read this year, this is one of the few re-reads I’ve done. It’s so funny and cute and I love it.

 

Box of Chocolates: A series that has something for everyone

15839976

What’s a tag without mentioning Red Rising? This is another re-read this year. It has actions, twists, romance, space, politics, romance, and terrific writing.

Top 5 Wednesday: Second Book is Best

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday (check out the Good Reads group) is: Second Book is BestWe’ve talked about series that went downhill, and series that are worth it, but which series were best in the middle?

18966819

1. Golden Son (Red Rising #2) by Pierce Brown. The first book was great, but this second book in the Red Rising series just blew me away. One of my all time favorite books.

13206760  13206828

2. Scarlet & Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #2 & #3) by Marissa Meyer. (Since there are 4 books in this series I’m counting the middle two books as one.) I remember not being all that impressed with Cinder, but the books just kept getting better after that.

8288246

3. Red Glove (Curse Workers #2) by Holly Black. With all the 5 star reviews I saw of the first book I ended up being a little disappointed. But then I read Red Glove and it was everything I expected the first book to be. I loved it.

27276194

4. For Better or Worse (The Wedding Belles #2) by Lauren Layne. Even though I ended up reading this series in reverse order, it was still the second book I read and my favorite of the whole series.

22544025

5. New Uses for Old Boyfriends (Black Dog Bay #2) by Beth Kendrick. This was actually the first book in the series I read, but I thought it (and the following books in the series) was a big improvement over the first book.

What are some of your picks for Second Book is Best?

Review: What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

30199656

Synopsis from Good Reads:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Last year I loved Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things and I was really hoping to love What to Say Next just as much. At first, I didn’t think I would. I even put this one down to read something out before coming back to it. I’m so glad I kept reading, though, because I did end up really enjoying it.

I LOVE DAVID DRUCKER. I love him! While I wasn’t sold on the story from the very beginning, I was sold on David pretty much instantly. He’s such a different character than I’ve read before. He’s on the Autism spectrum and while I’m not exactly qualified to comment on how realistic a portrayal it was, it did seem pretty realistic to me. There were several times he reminded me a little of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory. He was sweet and funny and so, so honest. I just adored him. He went through some heartbreaking moments in this book and I loved seeing him end up stronger because of it. I also really loved his relationship with his sister.

It took a little longer to warm up to Kit. She’s grieving the recent death of her father and while I think it could be cathartic for readers who are going through similar circumstances, it was a little redundant. I kind of feel awful saying that because I know there are stages of grief that everybody goes through at different rates and if it was me I would probably be much the same, but at the same time it made her kind of unlikable for awhile. (I also thought this particular storyline was a little too similar to one in Buxbaum’s last book.) However, as she learned to deal with things in a more emotionally healthy way she became a lot more likable. And her friendship with David made me like her even more. My biggest problem with her storyline has to deal with her father’s accident. I felt like there was supposed to be a bit of a mystery surrounding it, but I thought it was obvious and was a little annoyed that it wasn’t “revealed” until close to the end. It brought with it an extra bit of drama I didn’t feel was really necessary.

The story is told in dual 1st person POVs. At first I didn’t think it worked and wished we only had David’s POV. I felt like David and Kit’s stories didn’t really go together. It almost felt like reading two different books with a couple of shared scenes. Once David and Kit started to spend more time together and be a bigger part of each other’s lives, though, I started to really appreciate the style. Also, Buxbaum nailed their individual voices. There was never a time when I didn’t know which character I was reading. I also absolutely loved being in David’s head.

Overall, What to Say Next started out a little rough for me, but I ended up really loving it. I loved the growing relationship between David and Kit and watching David learn how to better interact with those around him. David Drucker has become one of my favorite characters of all time. I definitely recommend this one.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 4 Stars

July 2017 Recap

I had my best reading month I’ve had in awhile in July. That is mostly due to taking a week of vacation from work where I read 7 books. I didn’t go anywhere, did some shopping and some cleaning, and lots of reading and it was just the relaxing break I needed. Also notable in July I got to see Linda Castillo on book tour for the fourth year in a row and she remembered my name when I went up to get my book signed! Book Nerd’s dream right there. In life news, my dad went to the ER due to chest pains and ended up being admitted for a few days and had a couple of stent procedures done. He had an emergency bypass about a decade ago and has had to have a few stents put in over the years, but this is the first time it was an emergency like that again. Thankfully, all went well, there is no heart damage, and he is pretty much back to normal.

Books Read: 14

Adult: 10
YA: 4

Favorite Books I Read This Month:

33199875  31450759  34064624 30285562

  Books Reviewed: 9

(I can’t even the remember the last time I reviewed this many books in 1 month!)

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus – 4/5 Stars

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly – 3/5 Stars

Waste of Space by Gina Damico – 3.5/5 Stars

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter – 4/5 Stars

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker – 3/5 Stars

The Marriage Pact by Michelle Richmond – 4/5 Stars

Down a Dark Road (Kate Burkholder #9) by Linda Castillo – 4/5 Stars

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – 3/5 Stars

Trust by Kylie Scott – 4/5 Stars

Books Read in 2017 Overall: 80

Funny Fridays:

book funny meme - http://whyareyoustupid.com/book-funny-meme/?utm_source=snapsocial

July 7

I'm pretty sure I give this look to anyone who interrupts me while I'm reading. http://amzn.to/2qWZ2qa

July 14

You know, like social gatherings.

July 21

Other Posts:

June 2017 Recap

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2017

Get to Know Me Tag

Reviewing the Unreviewed: July 201

Book News:

The Raven Cycle TV Show Being Developed for Syfy

The Raven Cycle being adapted for tv is a little bit of old news, but it was announced that it is going to by on the SyFy network and that Catherine Hardwicke is producing. Fangirls will remember Hardwicke as the director of the first Twilight movie and I have to admit this makes me a little skeptical of how good the Raven Cycle will be. Fingers crossed, though!

Looking Forward to August:

33199875  31450561

I’m very excited to go to two different book events with my book buddy, Amanda, this month. We are going to see both Karin Slaughter and Lisa Scottoline!