July 2016 Recap

Free Yearly Calendar - July 2016 - the vertical design will work great in my 2016 planner binder. Will be printing out copies for myself & my daughter!:

Another month where I was a horrible book blogger. *Sigh* While I did have a pretty good reading month, I only reviewed a couple of books. I did have some fun with a couple book tags and wrote one original discussion post, so that’s something, I guess. I met and exceeded my Good Reads Reading Challenge goal for 2016 of 75 books. I thought about increasing the goal, but I think I’ll probably just keep it so I can feel accomplished about something. Not a whole lot has happened on the personal front this month. My dad had another health setback, but it seems to be improving, so that’s good.

Books Read: 15

Adult: 4
YA: 11

Books Read in 2016 Overall: 82

Capture

Books Reviewed: 2

The Perfect Neighbors by Sarah Pekkanen – 3.5/5 Stars

The Playboy’s Proposal (The Sorenson Family #3) by Ashlee Mallory – 3/5 Stars

Funny Fridays:

...and the Lit Police have been summoned!:

July 8

That Would Be Like $1 A Second!!! :):

July 15

I met a wonderful man. He's fictional, but you can't have everything.:

July 22

The exact reason I usually end up staying up late reading.:

July 29

Other Posts:

June 2016 Recap

The Bookish Book Lover Tag

I Love You, but I Don’t Like You Right Now: Pet Peeves About the Book Blogging Community

Among the Wicked Book Tour Stop

The Goodreads Book Tag

Shadows and Opposition (Lux Series by JLA) Cover Reveals

Reviewing the Unreviewed: July 2016

girl and book

Bookish News:

Final Divergent Movie to go straight to TV

This news made me laugh. This is what happens when you alienate the fan base by making the movies almost unrecognizable from the books! I know a lot of people enjoy the movies, but I thought they were awful (sorry Theo James!).

Stephenie Meyer is wring an Adult Thriller

Whether you loved or hated the Twilight series, there’s no denying the impact it had on the book world. I am actually really interested to see how she handles writing for adults – especially in one of my favorite genres. The Chemist comes out November 15th!

Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Trilogy gets a Comic Book Prequel

The prequel comic book will feature the Sons of Ares, the uprising that Darrow later joins in the Red Rising series. I’ve been saying forever that I want to try some comics/graphic novels, so this just might be my first.

Looking Forward to August:

There aren’t any books coming out in August that I’ve been waiting on. On the personal front, my sister, brother-in-law, and niece will be visiting for a week towards the end of the month! It’s been several  months since I’ve seen them and my niece is now crawling and starting to walk a little and I’m so, so excited to see her!

10 thoughts on “July 2016 Recap

  1. I hope your dad continues to improve! Don’t worry about the lack of blogging. I was a terrible blogger for 2 months and I am two months behind on my month end review. Oh well, I have no plans to play catch up on those. My job recently got a lot busier and I don’t have as much time on lunch and in the evenings to read, let alone blog. I think my posts are going to be scaled way back for awhile. As long as I’m reading good books, that’s all that matters, right? 🙂

    • Thank you! I find that lately I’ve been much more of a Reader than a Blogger, which is fine, but then I always feel disappointed in myself at the end of the month haha. I’m sorry you don’t have as much time to read during lunch! When I switched jobs last time I went from an hour to 1/2 an hour lunch and it really put a dent in my reading!

  2. I’m already impatiently waiting for the Red Rising Prequel! LOVE that series!

    I had a good laugh when I heard about The Allegiant movie going straight to DVD. Why they would ever split that book into two movies is beyond me! Should have just kept it as one and saved the embarrassment…

    • I know! A prequel AND a spinoff are in the works and I’m so happy!
      And I’m glad I’m not the only one who laughed at the allegiant movie news. That book definitely does not deserve two movies (though I don’t really think it even deserves one haha).

    • I didn’t LOVE The Host, but I liked it well enough. I would’ve continued the series if she ever finished it like she was supposed to haha. I am pretty excited to see how she does with the new age group and genre.

  3. Pingback: August 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

