The GoodReads Book Tag

Untitled 2.001

I recently saw this tag over on Rattle the Stars and thought it looked like a fun one.

What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

26067503

Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein. I had some issues with it, but overall it was really cute.

What are you currently reading?

Nothing. I just finished Shuffle, Repeat, and haven’t started a new one yet. I guess I still have Blitzing Emily by Julie Brannagh marked as “currently reading”, but I started it like two books ago and I don’t think I’m going to finish it anytime soon.

What was the last book you marked as ‘TBR’?

26136108

Chance of a Lifetime by Marissa Clarke. I generally don’t reach for books with this type of cover on it, but I am interested in it because one of the main characters is blind. I love seeing books that can break stigmas on disabilities.

What book do you plan to read next?

25494343

My hold from the library finally came in for Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, so it might be what’s next. I’m not really sure if I’m in the mood to jump back into the Shadowhunter word, though.

Do you use the star rating system?

Of course

Are you doing a Reading Challenge?

Yes. I actually met my goal of 75 books with the last book I read. I’m debating between increasing it or just feeling accomplished.

Do you have a wishlist?

I have a TBR.

What book do you plan to buy next?

25486998    26247008

I am thinking about either P.S. I Like You by Kasie West or Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Do you have any favorite quotes, would you like to share a few?

15839976

I am actually really horrible at remembering quotes. I bookmark and highlight all these lines when I read, but they rarely stick with me. There is one, though, that I love from Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I have no idea why this is the one that stands out when there are soooo many good lines from that series.

…It isn’t their concern. And it shouldn’t be mine. Apparently my head is going to roll. I ask them what they will swing. “I have all the axes.”

Who are your favorite authors?

  • Rainbow Rowell
  • Pierce Brown
  • Linwood Barclay
  • Kasie West
  • Linda Castillo
  • Karin Slaughter
  • Allison Leotta
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Liane Moriarty
  • Jojo Moyes
  • just to name a few…

Have you joined any groups?

I’ve joined one book club group, but I haven’t actually been interested enough in any of the books they were reading to actually participate in it yet.

What do you think that Goodreads could do better?

Obviously the 1/2 star thing. I use a 1/2 star rating a lot on my blog and when I transfer that rating to Good Reads, I always round down (i.e. 3.5 Stars on blog = 3 Stars on Good Reads). I think my average rating would be higher if we had half stars.

I also would like to see Nook Book/Epub versions to choose from. I know that Good Reads is owned by Amazon now, so that’s probably not going to happen. But the number of pages in a Nook Book varies SO MUCH from the hard copy – and even from the Kindle. So when I’m updating my status, I have to use the percentage instead of page number to get an accurate picture – and since my particular Nook doesn’t tell me percentage, I have to calculate it.

Tagging:

Feel free to tag yourself if you would like.

We should be Good Reads friends! Come friend me!

9 thoughts on “The GoodReads Book Tag

  1. I never knew that about The Nook and the percentages. That sucks you have to calculate it!
    I am really excited about Truly Madly Guilty. Preordered and can’t wait!
    Great job meeting your GR challenge already!!

    • Yeah, it tells me I’m on page _ of _, but not a percentage. Which never really bothered me until I started updating the status on Good Reads. I have the simplest version of the Nook, though, so maybe newer versions have that option.
      I’m really excited for Truly Madly Guilty, too. I’m like 2nd in line for it at the library, though, so I don’t know if I want to buy it right away.
      And thanks! I’ve done way, way less re-reading this year than I thought I was going to do so far, so I probably could’ve made my goal higher. Oh, well.

  2. I also want to get P.S. I Like You soon. I’m now starting to get into contemporary YA, a genre I would usually turn my nose up at in the past. But I’m really enjoying it now. Great answers! 🙂

    • Thanks! I do like contemporary YA and Kasie West is one of my favorites. Sometimes I get in the mood where that’s all I want to read, but after a few of them I usually need to find something with a little more substance. Still, though, there’s some really good ones out there.

  3. Goodreads is really frustrating in that it doesn’t always offer the version you’re reading. I’ve read one or two books on Kindle, and for some reason on Goodreads, it marks it in page numbers fr the status update. Which is frustrating. So I just don’t bother updating. (Not that I’m fantastic at remembering to update on there anyway.) 🙂

  4. Pingback: July 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

