I Love You, but I Don’t Like You Right Now: Pet Peeves About the Book Blogging Community

I don't have many...but if you do, it's over ✌️@doctor_nora_ DON'T PET MY MOTHA...:

I love the book blogging community. I love the excitement and the fangirling/fanboying and the different opinions and the tags and the graphics and the reviews and the books and the bloggers. While I am not quite as entrenched in it as many other bloggers seem to be, I definitely feel like book bloggers are my people. But, like with any other group of people we spend a great deal of time with, sometimes things start to get on my nerves. So I decided to share some of my pet peeves. Please note these are all in good fun and NOT directed at any particular blogger.

PET PEEVE #1
THIS BOOK IS SO IMPORTANT

One thing that really bothers me is when I read reviews (that are usually involving a hot button social issue) that say again and again how IMPORTANT this book is. What is important to you, may not be important to me. Honestly, the only book I would ever say is Important for Everyone to read is the Bible. And I respect your right to disagree with me on that.

I also have issues with giving a book a 5 star rating based solely on how important you think it is. For instance, None of the Above, by I.W. Gregorio is about an intersex character. It’s a unique topic and it was a very informative and interesting book. I learned a lot about something I didn’t have a lot of knowledge about before. However, once you got away from that, it really lacked a substantial plot and the characters were unlikable and it just wasn’t a well written book. It is not a book that, in my opinion, deserves All The Stars, even from people who have a much more generous rating system than I do.

PET PEEVE #2
I LOVE DIVERSE BOOKS…BUT RELGION IN A BOOK RUINS IT FOR ME

People are loving diversity in books these days, which is great. But one thing that bugs me is when people go on and on about needing diverse books, but then turn around and say how they “don’t like reading about religion in books.” (And often times by “religion” they mean “Christianity.”) Truly religious characters are a majorly unrepresented demographic in mainstream fiction. They come with a lot of preconceived notions that are often untrue, just like with many other underrepresented groups. I really don’t see how you can say you love diversity and then shun books for having a type of diversity you’re uncomfortable with.

PET PEEVE #3
DON’T GET ARC ENVY…BUT LOOK AT ALL THESE ARCS I HAVE

ARC Envy is old news in the book blogging community. And obviously it’s something you should try to avoid. Thou shalt not covet they neighbor’s ARC and all that, but it’s often hard to not even sometimes get a little jealous. However, what really gets under my skin, is when bloggers go on and on about how we shouldn’t “blog for ARCs” and every book they review are ones the publishers sent them. Or they get granted access to every book they request via NetGalley or Edleweiss. It’s like showing someone your HGTV-level renovated kitchen and then telling them, “Admire it, but DON’T want this!!”

PET PEEVE #4
YOU LOVE A BOOK I HATE

It really doesn’t bother me when I see reviews that hate books I love. I generally just feel sad for the reviewer for not realizing what a gem they just read. While I don’t agree with their opinions, I can usually see where they’re coming from. But for some reason I get, like, enraged when I see reviews loving a book I hated, or even just generally disliked. (I see RED when I read a 5 star review of Allegiant.) I am completely set in my point of view and cannot be persuaded to change my mind. It takes all my self control sometimes to not comment, “NO! You are wrong!!!!” on all the reviews.

So those are a few of my book blogging community pet peeves. Do you share any of these? What are some of your pet peeves?

*And please know, that even if you are guilty of some of my pet peeves, this is not directed at you, nor would it make me stop visiting your blog*

41 thoughts on “I Love You, but I Don’t Like You Right Now: Pet Peeves About the Book Blogging Community

  1. Good post. Most of my pet peeves come in the form of formatting only because of my job. Like I can’t stand when people don’t provide links to the title. Doesn’t stop me from reading the post I just usually have to then leave their site and then add the book to my goodreads TBR pile.

  2. I was looking forward to reading this when I heard you were writing it. I don’t think it comes across to harsh or horrible, just your point of view. I agree with you on the ‘this book is so important’ point… maybe important to you, but not to everyone else. Also, the ‘ARC’ point. I think we as bookbloggers can review whatever we wish, but as a true booklover, I couldn’t just review arcs, as I would be missing out on so many other amazing reads.
    Amanda.

  3. A great post, Stephanie. We all have pet peeves and I’m glad you voiced yours. Often people are afraid to say what they think for fear it will offend someone, when actually they may be offending you. Great job of getting the message across without ranting on and on.

  4. AHHHHH YASSSSSSSS 1 AND 2! I really agree with those the most. The other one I agree with but I think 1 and 2 are the top ones…I couldn’t agree with those more xD

  5. Haha I love these! I think you make a great distinction in your first one about books that are “important” you mention the word “informative” and I think that’s usually what people mean when they say “important”–I know I’ve been guilty of that one! Also, number four is so true!!!

  6. I agree with #4 to some extent. I always wonder how someone loved a book I hated, but then I assume that maybe I was unable to see the good in it. I’m usually more surprised when someone hates a book I love, and wonder how they could have missed what I enjoyed about it! Great post.

    • That would make more sense. I don’t know why I get so irrationally angry at one and don’t care about the other. I just seem to be more confident in my negative opinions than my positive ones. Which probably says something poor about me haha.

  7. Great points! One of my biggest pet peeves is devaluing a genre of books (romance, YA, etc.) because they aren’t “literature.” I hate when people look down on me for reading those kinds of books and not reading the latest mainstream fiction novel or some worn out classic. I used to get those looks and digs all the time in college from my classmates and professors who thought I was immature or something. I felt sorry for them for not seeing the beauty in those novels.

    • Oooh, I agree with that one, too! I have several co-workers that like to read and everything they read is like business related or biographies or memoirs and they don’t seem at all interested in the YA Fantasy I just read.

  8. Pingback: I Love You, but I Don’t Like You Right Now: Pet Peeves About the Book Blogging Community – Adventures in Reading, Writing and Goofing Off

  9. Great post! I haven’t yet read Allegiant, not sure I will since I know what happens. I agree with you it’s interesting when someone hates a book you loved and to see their point of view, but I find the same when they loved a book i hated, but I don’t always read reviews for those. But it is funny when something that I hated or loved evokes the opposite reaction in another reader.

  10. I love your honesty – this post is awesome. I agree with them all!
    Regarding religion in books – I was raised in a religious house (although I’m not a practicing Lutheran anymore), I’m still a believer, but I used to really dislike any religion in books. If I felt preached at, then I would likely DNF the book. I recently picked up Making Faces by Amy Harmon, not realizing that she adds just a little bit of religion into her writing. Not enough to turn people off, just enough to be meaningful, and it made the book even better IMO. Ended up being one of my favorite books! It’s good to have an open mind and I’m learning to be better about it when it comes to my reading choices. 🙂

    • Thanks! I agree that sometimes there are books that can hit you over the head with religious stuff and those books are definitely not for everybody, but I think there are plenty of books out there with a good balance.
      And it’s ok for people to not like religion books. But there are many bloggers out there that shove “We need Diversity” down everybody’s throats, but they really are not as open-minded about all things diverse as they pretend to be.

  11. I completely agree about the diversity thing. Diversity means representing everyone – not just the minorities it’s in fashion to represent. I get annoyed the other way though, as well, when Christianity, or any religion, I suppose, isn’t represented in the best light in a book, and those who are part of that religion shout it down. (I don’t mean when something is generally demonised though – that’s not fair.) But I do think that people should accept that not everyone has the same view of religion (whichever one it may be.)

    • Right!? I mean, people are allowed not to like things, but if you basically blog on the platform of “diversity”, you shouldn’t straight up say how much you dislike a certain demographic.
      You bring up another interesting point, too. I know I have deducted a 1/2 star or so if I feel Christianity in books is treated disrespectfully. But that’s often when it does go to the extreme and hard core mocks it or only shows the clichéd super hypocritical “Christian” (which, I mean, I know there are those type of people out there, but it’s not a true representation of people in that faith).

      • I can understand where you’re coming from. It’s hard when a book is criticising something you believe in, or feel a part of. I admire people who can take a step back and see where others are coming from though. Like you said about people not liking books you do. It’s a different thing, but kind of similar, I think.

  12. Pingback: The Sunday Post // July 17, 2016 – Comma Hangover

  13. Pingback: July 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  14. Pingback: ​That Bookshelf Bitch Relaunch {and things I’ve realized throughout my hiatus} – That Bookshelf Bitch

  15. Great post! But please, help a one week old blogger out: what is ARC? Haha My biggest pet peeve it mystery books with open endings. (SPOILER) Into the Woods by Tana French… I will never forgive her. Nine years later and I am still upset!

    • Thanks! An ARC is an Advanced Reader Copy. It’s when you get a book ahead of it’s publication date so you can review it. You can get request them on NetGalley or Edelweiss or straight from a publisher or author. Or sometimes they contact you. 🙂
      I haven’t read Into the Woods, but I do agree that open endings are pretty awful!
      Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging!

  16. Pingback: 2016 Recap: The Best, The Worst, and Stats That Only I Will Care About | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

