Top 5 Wednesday: 2018 Wishlist

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday, hosted by the Good Reads group, is:  2018 Wishlist – Looking forward into the new year, this is a list of the types of books you’d like to see more of in 2018! Try to avoid actual titles, and discuss themes, genres, or tropes you’d like to see more of in the new year!

34064624  32195204

1. Books w/in books. What’s better than reading one book? Reading two! This year I’ve read a couple of books that did this really well (Lies She Told by Cate Holahan and The Weight of Lies by Emily Carpenter) and I would love to read more like them.

27237358

2. Realistic Christian characters. Most of the time if a mainstream book includes a “Christian” character it portrays them as some kind of hypocritical psycho. And sure there are lots of people who claim to be Christians who really are hypocritical psychos, but there are many genuine people out there, as well. In 2018 I’d like to see more of the genuine people. I thought Amy Harmon did this really well with Making Faces.

34189556  32571395   26210523

3. Well-written twists and surprises (that actually surprise me)I feel like I can almost always predict the twist in books these days and in 2017 I was pleasantly surprised by several books (such Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton,  One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus and The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen – which actually publishes in 2018).

30731416

4. Fake Relationships. This is my favorite romance trope and I am always on the look out for a good fake relationship story. This year’s favorite was When It’s Real by Erin Watt.

23395680

5. Alternative FormattingSometimes this annoys me because I read e-books about 95% of the time and lots of alternative formatting makes things unreadable, but I do love them in physical format. Even though I wasn’t blown away by the actual story, I really loved the formatting for Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman.

What type of books are on your 2018 Wishlist?

23 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: 2018 Wishlist

  1. This is interesting! I just posted my favorite books of 2017. One of my followers mentioned I have a lot of romances in there. Not true. I have a combination of mystery/drama/literary fiction/historical fiction/spy/women’s fiction/. romantic suspense/ and memoir. But for good reason, there is romance in almost every one of the books I read. Because we all have a touch of romance in our lives, or if we don’t, we want it!

  2. Ouuuh, awesome picks! Books within books are quite fascinating indeed. I think every bookworm out there adores those hahah And man, twists that actually surprise you!!! Hopefully 2018 will know a lot of authors who are able to do just that for thrillers!

  3. I think you’ll like Running Barefoot by Amy Harmon. I’ll bring you my copy when I see you next! She has a really good way of incorporating religion into her books without it being overdone and offensive.

    • Awesome, thanks! That is the thing I like best about her writing. There’s hints of her faith, without browbeating people with it. Which I think is good because it still puts the positive message across to people who would otherwise not read it.

  4. Pingback: December 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.