Mid-Year Book Freakout (Survey)

 

large

I saw on Brin’s Book Blog that A Book So Fathomless had created a mid-year book survey and thought it seemed fun.


1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2014
Cress by Marissa Meyer. This series really does get better with each book and Cress didn’t disappoint. Meyer has created a terrific cast of characters and seamlessly weaves together multiple storylines.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2014
Perfect Lies by Kiersten White. This series is only a duology and this book ended the series so well!

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to
Landline by Rainbow Rowell! Rainbow is pretty much an auto-buy, but I won a copy in a give-away and I’m still waiting for it to arrive!!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year
Opposition by Jennifer Armentrout! The Lux series is one of my favorites and this is the last book!

5. Biggest disappointment
Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge. I read lots of hype about this book and for me it just didn’t deliver.

6. Biggest surprise
 City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I expected to hate this series ender. While I had some issues with it, it really did end things nicely.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)
Jojo Moyes! Why did it take so long for me to read her?

8. Newest fictional crush
Sean Kendrick in The Scorpio Races.

9. Newest favourite character
Kami Glass in the Lynburn Legacy series.

10. Book that made you cry
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

11. Book that made you happy
On the Fence by Kasie West was completely adorable.

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year
The only one I’ve seen this year has been The Vampire Academy, and, yeah….

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year
Oh geeze, I don’t know. I never think any of my reviews are that good.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
Ignite Me has such a beautiful cover. The sad part of that, though, is that I have it on my Nook Simple Touch which is all black and white.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
Opposition by JLA, Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan, Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater, Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins.

7 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freakout (Survey)

  1. Oh lord, do not get me started on the Vampire Academy movie…was so disappointed since I am a huge fan of the series. 😦

    Love your answers (and agree with you on Sean from Scorpio Races!)

  2. I love The Lunar Chronicles! And Rainbow Rowell! Meaning you, my friend, have excellent taste in books. Or at least the same taste as me 🙂 I haven’t read City of Heavenly Fire yet, even though I have a copy. I’m so nervous. But I’m super glad you enjoyed it!

    • I agree that we have excellent taste! When it comes to City of Heavenly Fire, I would suggest you read The Infernal Devices series first if you haven’t already. I haven’t started that series yet and COHF includes spoilers from TID series and some characters and I felt like I was missing big things because I didn’t know their story.

  3. Glad I wasn’t the only one disappointed by Cruel Beauty. I was really expecting to love it since so many others raved about it. It wasn’t horrible, I just found it to be ‘meh’.

Leave a Reply

