Review: Perfect Lies (Mind Games #2) by Kiersten White

Perfect Lies (Mind Games, #2)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

Annie and Fia are ready to fight back.

The sisters have been manipulated and controlled by the Keane Foundation for years, trapped in a never ending battle for survival. Now they have found allies who can help them truly escape. After faking her own death, Annie has joined a group that is plotting to destroy the Foundation. And Fia is working with James Keane to bring his father down from the inside.

But Annie’s visions of the future can’t show her who to trust in the present. And though James is Fia’s first love, Fia knows he’s hiding something. The sisters can rely only on each other – but that may not be enough to save them.

Perfect Lies is the fast-paced conclusion to the Mind Games series. I have to say the only thing I didn’t really like about it is that this series is a duology and not a trilogy. I want more Annie and Fia!

Like the first book, the story is told through alternating 1st person POV between Fia and Annie and in multiple timelines. While I understand that some people may find that style confusing, I loved it. It made for interesting twists and surprises throughout and also aided in the character development for each sister. White does a great job in giving them distinct voices.

Annie grows a lot throughout the months leading up to the end of the book. She stops being the victim and the protected one to becoming the protector. I liked how her relationship with Fia developed, even though they were apart for almost the entirety of the book. I also liked the slow build of her relationship with Cole.

Oh crazy, crazy Fia. How I love her. (Side note: her POV reminds me a lot of Juliette in the Shatter Me series. Can you imagine a crossover of these two series? Fia and Juliette would be best friends. And there would be a crazy love triangle with Warner.) Her ability to always trust her first instinct as right has begun to blur as she uses her love for James as her driving force for all her decisions. As Annie grows more confident, Fia grows a little crazier, but she never loses sight of her ultimate goal – to protect her sister at all costs.

I enjoyed the addition of “Pixie”, a mind reader who befriends Fia. Other than her, though, the secondary characters were not as developed as I would have liked. They were all as likable or as a suspicious as intended and I didn’t find any of their actions too surprising. I feel like Adam in particular got the shaft, even though I’m not that disappointed in how his relationship with Fia ended up.

Overall, I really enjoyed Perfect Lies. I loved the writing style and the character development of the two sisters. Even though I feel like there could be more story left to tell, it was a satisfying conclusion to Annie and Fia’s fight against the Keane foundation.

Rating (out of 5):
Plot: 4
Characters: 4
Readability: 4.5
Enjoyability: 4.5
Overall Average: 4.25 stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Perfect Lies (Mind Games #2) by Kiersten White

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freakout (Survey) | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to read more | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: 12 Days of Book Tags | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2014 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

