Review: Kissing her Crush (Sugar City #2) by Ophelia London

Book Review Header

Synopsis from Good Reads:

He’s sweet trouble…

Natalie Holden wants three things: To be the best chocolate chemist in Hershey, Pennsylvania, to prove her chocolate recipe can help teenage depression, and to get over gorgeous Luke Elliott, the guy she’s had a crush on since birth. Unfortunately, he’s the microbiologist set to debunk her chocolate study. And, of course, he looks more delicious than ever!

Luke Elliott is still bitter over his divorce. Work is his passion now, and landing a huge promotion is just what he needs. What he doesn’t need is a crackpot trying to prove that chocolate cures depression. The last thing he expects is for the crackpot to be Natalie Holden—his “what if” girl from high school—or that she’d still tempt the hell out of him.

They may not see eye-to-eye on her project, but they can’t deny the explosive chemistry that keeps pulling them together. Even when it risks their jobs and the very different futures they both want…

26087184

I received a copy of this title from NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

Kissing her Crush is available today.

I am definitely a mood reader and lately all I’ve wanted to read are cute romances. When I saw Ophelia London had a new book coming out, I knew it was just the thing to satisfy my craving.

Kissing her Crush is set in Hershey, PA, which feels like another character in the book. London did a great job describing the local attractions and what it’s like to live in a small town. I also love that something so big – Hershey Chocolate – is from a small town. Since it’s set in Hershey, chocolate obviously plays a big role in the story, which I also love.

Natalie works in the Research and Development department at Hershey as a food chemist and has recently been approved to head up a clinical trial including chocolate infused with a serum to help combat depressing in adolescents. Thankfully the book focuses more on chocolate than scientific explanation. We get enough information to understand what Natalie is trying to do, without being bogged down by the science, which – let’s face it – is what I prefer in a romance novel. Luke, who is more of a health nut than a chocoholic, has been sent to proctor the trial and if he performs well will be offered his dream job.

With their differing opinions on health and chocolate, Natalie and Luke are obviously going to butt heads in the lab. However, they also have an instant attraction and growing chemistry which gets in the way of their work. While there were several times I wanted to smack Natalie for how easily distracted she let herself get by Luke, I did really like them together. They have a bit of a history, growing up in the same town and Natalie has always had a crush on him. However, the synopsis states that Natalie was Luke’s “what if” girl from High School, which isn’t exactly accurate. When he meets her again before the clinical trial starts he doesn’t even remember who she is. But even without that plot element, their growing relationship was sweet and I liked to see that they developed a friendship, as well.

Overall, I enjoyed Kissing her Crush. While there weren’t really any surprises, it was what I wanted it to be and the addition of the Hershey, PA location and the side plot of a relative’s depression that Natalie is working on the trial for added a little something more to the traditional romance storyline. The story was cute and the characters were likable. I would recommend it to fans of romance.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 3 Stars

3 stars

4 thoughts on “Review: Kissing her Crush (Sugar City #2) by Ophelia London

  1. Great review! This looks like a cute story. I love that it is set in Hershey, PA. I went there when I was a kid so it would be interesting to read a book set there. Unfortunately, my library only has 2 books by this author and they are older. I hate that. I read so much I can’t buy every book I’m interested in 😦

    • Thanks! It was an interesting setting. I hate when books I want aren’t at the library. I am constantly checking back to see if books are ever added. If the books of hers that are at your library are the Definitely, Maybe series I recommend them. They’re retellings of Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion. So cute!

  2. Pingback: November 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Review: Wife for the Weekend (Sugar City #3) by Ophelia London | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

