Review: Wife for the Weekend (Sugar City #3) by Ophelia London

Book Review Header

Synopsis from Good Reads:

When bad weather closes the airport, free-spirited Jules Bloom finds herself stuck with the admittedly hot but total suit Dexter Elliott. One night and one large pitcher of “Vegas Sunrise” later, Jules wakes up in a hotel bed with a vicious hangover…wearing nothing but a wedding ring.

Determined not to ruin his brother’s wedding, Dexter strikes a deal with the frustratingly gorgeous Jules to continue their quickie marriage through the weekend. Only she keeps getting under his skin in unexpected ways.

Jules has her own reasons for staying married to Dex but they seem less important with each exaggerated touch and staged kiss. But one marriage, one major secret, and two complete opposites don’t add up to a happily ever after…

28668330

I received a copy of this title from NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

This book was so cute! I am always on the look out for good Fake Relationship stories and Wife for the Weekend is one of the best I’ve read in awhile. It incorporated a lot of the uncomfortable (but humorous) moments between Jules and Dexter and the people they’re trying to fool that I look for in this type of story. And of course, while they’re working on fooling everybody else, they start to fool themselves. I really liked how their relationship developed and even though the story takes place over a week, it didn’t seem like they developed feelings for each other too quickly.

I loved the back and forth between Dexter and Jules. They knew exactly how to get under each other’s skin and they enjoyed doing it and it made me smile. The story is told in third-person through both of their perspectives and I really loved whenever we got Dexter’s POV. He’s smart and funny and sweet and focused and a little flawed and I just loved him. While I did like Jules, she did get a little on my nerves at times. I don’t have a lot of patience for the whole “free-spirit” thing and it really annoyed me how completely anti-technology she was and how judgey she was about Dexter using it.

I also really liked Dexter’s family. It’s been awhile since I read the previous book in this series so I didn’t remember all of the Elliots, but I liked seeing Roxy again, and of course Luke and Natalie. In their book, Kissing her Crush, the town of Hershey was kind of like another character in the story and I really enjoyed that. I was expecting to see a lot more of and learn more about Hershey in this book, but other than the occasional mention of using chocolate a lot (I’m totally going to try using chocolate milk in coffee now), it doesn’t really play much of a role in this installment, which made me just a tad bit disappointed.

Overall, I really enjoyed Wife for the Weekend. It was a cute, light-hearted read and is just what I needed. The Fake Relationship trope is one of my favorites to read and I thought this was definitely one of the better ones I’ve read. I definitely recommend it anyone looking for a quick, cute read and I’m looking forward to reading more from London in the future.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 4 Stars

4 stars

6 thoughts on “Review: Wife for the Weekend (Sugar City #3) by Ophelia London

  1. You gave a wonderful review of Wife for the Weekend. You mentioned that it part of a series. Is this one where it’s best to have read the previous books first?

  2. Pingback: March 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Pokémon Go Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

