Reviewing the Unreviewed: November

I read a lot of books that I don’t end up reviewing for whatever reason. Some because I wasn’t impressed. Some because I didn’t have the time. Some I just wasn’t feeling it on whatever particular day I finished. I thought I’d start doing a post once a month  with just the couple thoughts I shared on Good Reads.

So due to NaNoWriMo I did not have a very big reading month, so this post will be pretty short! The only books I read and wrote book reviews for was The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2) by Samantha Shannon and Suspicion by Alexandra Monir (but that was after I won NaNo).

Someday Maybe (Definitely Maybe, #2)

Someday Maybe (Definitely Maybe #2) by Ophelia London. Read October 30 – November 2. 3 stars.

I really loved Definitely Maybe as a Pride and Prejudice re-telling. I was super excited for this book because it’s a Persuasion re-telling, which is definitely one of my favorite Jane Austen books. I was left a little disappointed. It didn’t have as many of the pivotal scenes I would’ve liked. It was a little more like most re-tellings that I’m used to reading, which has more of an “inspired by” vibe. However, it was still a cute read and I’ll read whatever re-telling London puts out next!

Yes Please

Yes Please by Amy Poehler. Read November 17-21. 3.5 stars.

For the most part I found this book enjoyable and funny. I would’ve liked more info on Parks and Rec, though. Some chapters weren’t as funny or interesting as others, but of the three Funny Lady memoirs I’ve read (this, Mindy Kaling’s book, and Tina Fey’s book), this was probably my favorite.

Married for Christmas (Willow Park, #1)

Married for Christmas (Willow Park #1) by Noelle Adams. Read November 23-25. 3 stars.

This is currently a FREE ebook at Barnes and Noble

This was a cute, quick read. I liked that the characters were Christians, yet this wasn’t a “Christian Fiction” book. There’s even a note in the beginning of the book that this is not an “inspirational” read, but the faith of the characters is just one aspect of their lives. Despite not being “inspirational”, I still thought there was some great messages conveyed in the story, without every being preachy.

To almost make up for the religious aspects of the book, there were a few graphic scenes. I couldn’t done without those, but they were your typical romance style scenes and easily skimmed over.

*************************************************************************

BACK ON THE TBR SHELF

The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)

The Jewel (The Lone City #1) by Amy Ewing. I just couldn’t get into this book. Maybe it was because I was coming towards the end of NaNoWriMo and was more focused on writing than reading. Or it just failed to interest me, despite the oh so pretty cover. Either way, I’m not ready to DNF it, so back on the TBR shelf it goes!

4 thoughts on “Reviewing the Unreviewed: November

  1. I like the idea of a monthly I didn’t finish this book post. I could never have one, because then I’d actually have to give up on a book. Yeah, lots of retellings are more inspired by. (Probably because there are so many retellings right now.)

    I’m not a memoirs sort of girl, but I do like funny books.

    It’s always nice to read a Christmas book to get in the mood. It’s nice that it didn’t get preechy. I know what you mean, I always skim those kinds of scenes too.

    That’s the only way I can stop a book, if I tell myself I’ll come back to it. I’ve heard mostly good things about the Jewel, so I hope you like it next time.

    • Yeah, most of the re-tellings I’ve read have the more “Inspired By” vibe, but I think because the first book in the series had so many of the Big Scenes (but still in a different way), that I was expecting it in this book.

      I don’t always mind when books get preachy, but I know a lot of people wouldn’t read one that does. I think this book gave characters with Christian faith a good shake though. They seemed like realistic characters with faults and struggles and I liked that.

      Yeah, there are still very few books I can straight DNF. I’ve heard mostly bad things about the book and that’s why I was ok with not finishing it right now. But I still want to try it again!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

