Review: The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2) by Samantha Shannon

The Mime Order (The Bone Season, #2)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal penal colony of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the fugitives are still missing and she is the most wanted person in London.

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on Paige, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take center stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.

Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided. Will Paige know who to trust? The hunt for the dreamwalker is on.

I received a copy of this title from NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

The Mime Order will be available January 27, 2015.

According to NetGalley the version of the ARC I read is NOT the final, Americanized version that will be published. (Whatever that means.)

It’s been awhile since I read The Bone Season, so it took me several chapters to get reacquainted with the world of Voyants and Rephaim and Scion and the Syndicate and Mime-Lords. Once I did, though, I really enjoyed it. I think I actually enjoyed this one a lot more than I did the first book.

When I first read The Bone Season and heard the series would be seven  books, I predicted that each book would be from a different member of Paige’s gang, The Seven Seals. Thankfully, I was wrong about that. The Mime Order is still told through Paige’s 1st person POV, but we do get to know some of the other Seals better through her.

After breaking out of Sheol I, Paige is on a mission to warn the rest of the Syndicate about the Rephaim and their control over Scion and London. However, Warden is missing and no one is interested in hearing about it. Especially Jaxon, Paige’s Mime-Lord. He rescued Paige, his Pale Dreamer, and now just wants her to get back to work and focus on their Sector. I love to hate Jaxon! He’s such a great blend of confident and cocky; smart and devious. I spent the whole book questioning his motives and what he really cares about.

While Paige’s main focus is getting the word out about the Rephaim, there are a lot of other obstacles thrown her way. Scion has named her enemy number one in London for being a dangerous clairvoyant, but it’s not just Scion that’s after her. While I enjoyed the book, it did run a little long and the number of times Paige gets jumped in an alley got a bit too repetitive for me. However, as the book goes on, the action definitely picks up and I had a very hard time putting it down.

I’m not sure how much more to say about the plot of the story, since the book doesn’t come out until January and I don’t want to be spoilery. I will say that there are some big shake-ups within the Syndicate and while the book doesn’t exactly end in a cliffhanger, it definitely left me wanting more and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

The character development was well-done in this book. We get to see Paige grow, as well as get to know Jaxon, Nick (love him!!), and Eliza better. There’s also a continuation of the romance that started in the first book, but it doesn’t overtake the story at all, which I appreciate. The writing I also felt was much improved from the first book.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Mime Order. It was a great follow-up to the start of a series, one that I think actually surpassed the first. I would definitely recommend it to those that have read The Bone Season and recommend the series to those that enjoy fantasy.

Rating (out of 5):
Plot: 4
Characters: 4
Readability: 4
Enjoyability: 4
Overall Rating: 4 Stars

8 thoughts on “Review: The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2) by Samantha Shannon

  1. Pingback: Taylor Swift Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Reviewing the Unreviewed: November | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: 2014 End of Year Book Survey | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Debut Novels For 2015 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

