30 Day Book Challenge = 1 Survey

banner

So I’ve seen several people do the 30 Day Book  Challenge hosted by The Chronicles of Radiya. While I think it’s fun, I just don’t think I have the patience to do it everyday, so I turned it into a survey, all 30 questions in 1 post. Enjoy.

01 – A BOOK YOU WISH YOU COULD LIVE IN
This one is hard because I feel like the only type of fantasy worlds I read are dystopian, and as much as I love the books, you obviously don’t really want to live in them. I’m going to go with Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (and I apologize if this book comes up in a lot of answers). I want to work at a newspaper and e-mail Beth and Jennifer and be friends with Lincoln.

02 – A BOOK THAT YOU’VE READ AGAIN AND AGAIN
Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout has become one of my go-to books when I need a break from something else, or just to pass the time.

03 – YOUR FAVOURITE SERIES
            I have so many that I love, I don’t know if I can pick just one. But I think The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is really at the top of the list. So many books I love, but don’t know if I would recommend to everybody. I feel like The Hunger Games has such broad appeal and solid writing.

04 – WORST FILM ADAPTATION OF A BOOK
            Though the Twlight series seems like an obvious answer, I’m going to go with the American version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Bad casting (I love me some Daniel Craig and he’s wonderful at everything, but he’s not at all how I pictured out-of-shape Mikael Blomkvist). They changed the ending. And I really don’t think anyone who hadn’t read the book would be able to follow the plot.

05 – A BOOK THAT MAKES YOU HAPPY
            I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. This is a perfect light, fluffy, weekend read. As everything from Kinsella, it’s a little on the ridiculous side (ok, a lot on the ridiculous side), but it’s sweet and I enjoy it.

I've Got Your Number
06 – A BOOK THAT BROKE YOUR HEART
Mockingjay by Susan Collins. The last 2 books of the series are kind of depressing. When people start reading Mockingjay I tell them to prepare to never be happy again.

07 – MOST UNDERRATED BOOK
            Northange Abbey by Jane Austen. It’s one of my favorite Austen novels, but I never hear anyone else talk about it. It seems to everyone else if you mention Jane Austen they only think of Pride and Prejudice or Emma.

08 – MOST OVERRATED BOOK
            The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. I’m not saying that it’s not a fantastically written, fast-paced, page-turning book. Just all the hype that surrounded it when it first came out. People treated it like it was gospel – and I always felt that’s what Brown wanted – despite the fact that it’s riddled with inaccuracies.

09 – A BOOK YOU THOUGHT YOU WOULDN’T LIKE BUT ENDED UP LOVING
            Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. It’s one of my mom’s favorite books and she suggested it to me several times before I finally gave in. And it’s great.

Redeeming Love
10 – FAVOURITE CLASSIC BOOK
            Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I didn’t read this until I was out of college and couldn’t believe it took me that long.

11 – A BOOK YOU HATED
            The Innocents by Francesca Segal. I HATED this book. The writing was wonderful, but the characters were pretty horrible. Adam, the main character, finally proposed after dating his girlfriend for a decade (or close to it), but then gets distracted by her younger, more beautiful, more adventurous cousin. He kind of falls instantly in love with her, but I don’t ever feel like it’s any kind of real love. He’s in love with his idea of her, not actually her. But he still cheats on his wife with her and is ready to leave his wife, until she tells him she’s pregnant and knows that it will keep him from leaving. Things end with the cousin, but none of them really have a happy ending.

12 – A BOOK YOU USED TO LOVE BUT DON’T ANYMORE
            The Twilight series. I actually credit these books for getting me back into reading again. Despite all the haters, it’s still, overall, a sweet love story. But after I moved on to other books and series I tried to come back to these and re-read them, but could hardly get through them.

13 – YOUR FAVOURITE AUTHOR
            This seems like an impossible question. There’s so many that I love. I’m going to go with my newest favorite – Linwood Barclay. I’ve only read three books by him so far, but he’s so consistently good. He hasn’t let me down yet.

14 – FAVOURITE AUTHOR(S) FROM YOUR CHILDHOOD
            Anne M. Martin. I read soooo many Baby-Sitter’s Club books.

15 –  YOUR FIVE FAVOURITE CHARACTERS OF ALL TIME
            This is impossible. I reserve the right to change my mind on these.
            1. Lincoln O’Neil (Attachments by Rainbow Rowell).
2. Henry Tileny (Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen).
3. Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games by Susan Collins).
4. Martin Rilke (The Passing Bells by Phillip Rock).
5. Four –AKA Tobias Eaton (Divergent by Veronica Roth)

16 –  YOUR FAVOURITE GENRE
            I read such a mix of genres that it’s hard to pick one. But overall, I probably read more YA Dystopian than anything else.

17 – FAVOURITE QUOTE FROM A BOOK
I don’t often remember a lot of quotes from books, so I’m going to use the same answer I did in the A to Z Survey. It comes from The Passing Bells from Fenton Wood-Lacey. Up to this point in the book, I wasn’t sure if I really liked Fenton or not. I wanted to, but I just kept thinking he was going to let me down. It came to a point where he was alone with his friend’s wife – who also used to be someone he thought himself in love with – and she’s coming on to him. He considers it but then says, “Everything is becoming so shabby these days. So lacking in worth. I just don’t like feel joining the trend.” And that made me fall in love with him. (For that book anyways. The Wood-Lacey’s broke my heart in the second book.)

The Passing Bells (Passing Bells, #1)
18 – A BOOK THAT MADE YOU LAUGH
            Attachments. The e-mails between Beth and Jennifer are great. It’s what made me want to be best friends with Rainbow Rowell.

19 – FAVOURITE BOOK TURNED INTO A MOVIE
            The Hunger Games. While it wasn’t perfect, I thought that overall it was a really great, faithful adaption. I can’t wait for Catching Fire!

20 – FAVOURITE ROMANCE BOOK
            The Apothecary’s Daughter by Julie Klassen. Where so many romance books these days focus more on lust and an increasingly alarming bent towards the erotic, this is a sweet, honest story of real love.

21 – FAVOURITE BOOK FROM YOUR CHILDHOOD

As I mentioned earlier, I read a ridiculous amount of Baby-Sitter’s Club books.

22 – FAVOURITE VILLAIN FROM A BOOK
            Amy Dunne in Gone Girl. She’s a psychopath, but incredibly entertaining to read.

23 – A BOOK YOU WANTED TO READ FOR A LONG TIME BUT STILL HAVEN’T
            Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I really don’t know why I haven’t read this yet, I just never have.

24 – A BOOK THAT YOU WISH MORE PEOPLE WOULD’VE READ
            Below the Root by Zilpha Keatley Snyder. The Green Sky trilogy are books I read as a kid and loved, and just recently came across them again.

25 – A CHARACTER WHO YOU CAN RELATE TO THE MOST
            Lincoln in Attachments. He’s in his late twenties, in a dead-end job, and just generally doesn’t know what to do with his life.

Attachments
26 – A BOOK THAT CHANGED YOUR OPINION ABOUT SOMETHING
            I’m going to go again with the Twilight series. It changed my opinion on reading for fun. It had been years since I really did it and that series got me back to it.

27 – THE MOST SURPRISING PLOT TWIST OR ENDING
            The end of Variant by Robison Wells. It was a great cliff-hanger type of ending, I just wish the sequel would have been a little better.

28 – FAVOURITE TITLE
            Sweet Tooth (Ian McEwan). It’s a very misleading title, but that’s what I read the book.

29 – A BOOK THAT IS MOST LIKE YOUR LIFE
            Then we Came to the End by Joshua Ferris – an office satire.

30 – YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK OF ALL TIME
            And the last impossible question. I don’t think I can pick just one, but I think I’ll go with the one I’ve mentioned several times throughout this survey – Attachments by Rainbow Rowell.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge = 1 Survey

  1. Pingback: Review | Variant by Robison Wells | Attack of the Books!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.