NaNoWriMo 2015 Update #2

Soooo I’m fairly certain I’m going to be a NaNo Failure this year. I started out strong, keeping my word count a day or two ahead all the time. I went to my second write-in event last Friday and while I did get a lot of writing done, it kind of un-inspired me. We didn’t get any charms, which I know sounds ridiculous, but it’s probably the biggest thing that got me through last year. And I’m so fricking awkward in any type of social setting. I just felt like an idiot the whole time. Then my computer battery got down to 5% and the only way to get to a power strip was to move to a seat that would make me even more socially awkward and kind of claustrophobic (I just need ROOM when in groups).

I’m also not loving my story. It’s supposed to be a suspense, but I haven’t actually written anything suspenseful yet. To get some inspiration, I decided to start reading Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter (it’s so good, btw!) and then I got too swept up in it to do anything but read it in my spare time, so I haven’t written anything since Saturday.

Capture

My stats as of when I drafted this post Wednesday night.

If you’re participating in NaNo, how are you doing?

22 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015 Update #2

    • Yeah I am totally uninspired right now. The leader of my region ended up changing her story at our write-in on Friday. She decided everything she wrote thus far was going to be a book within a book. I don’t really see that working for me, though. But, I do need to change something if I keep going.

  1. You’re not that far behind where I am! Attitude is everything. Come on, write! I’m not loving my story too much either, but it’s all experience and practice. Also, by making mistakes that’s how we learn. You can do this. It’s hard to find the discipline to write, but if you want it enough, you can. Have you ever done wordsprints?

  2. I know that failure feeling 😦 things have been sooooo crazy at work I get home, cook my son dinner, then put us both in bed – I’m absolutely drained.
    I hope you strike some inspiration 🙂
    Look at it this way: anything you get down is better then nothing and you can keep working on it after November 🙂

  3. I’m behind as well at 16K so far, so I plan on catching up this weekend. Just be proud of what you’ve accomplished so far! Every word is better than nothing at all!

    I’m continuing my novel from last year, and I’m so excited to have reached 100+ total pages! I’ve never stuck with one story that long, and now I’m 1/3 done! It’s probably all crap right now, but I’ll worry about editing in December 🙂

    • Congrats on continuing your story! I “won” last year, but never finished my story. I thought about continuing it this year, but I didn’t think there was 50k words left in it.
      I actually did end up writing a little bit last night, but I’m still pretty behind. Maybe I’ll try and catch up this weekend, too.

  4. Pingback: November 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

