Review: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

36012399

Synopsis from Good Reads:

Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell—perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty.

Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her.

And then she was gone.

Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It’s been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie’s case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a café, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she’s meeting Floyd’s daughters—and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel’s breath away.

Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she’s tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?

I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

Then She Was Gone will be available 4/24/18. 

Lisa Jewell does it again. I was so consumed with this story that I finished it in less than 24 hours.

Every time I read a book by Lisa Jewell I wonder why I have not read more from her. Her writing is so addictive that I never want to put the book down (and I very rarely did). She effortlessly weaves together past and present timelines and multiple POVs. I love how character-driven her stories are and Then She Was Gone was no exception.

The book focuses mainly on Laurel, a woman whose daughter has disappeared many years ago. She does not have a very good relationship with her remaining children and has been separated from her husband for awhile. When she finally gets some closure on the missing Ellie, she meets a charming man and finally begins to get her life back. When she discovers a connection between Ellie’s disappearance and Floyd’s young daughter she begins to investigate to try and figure out what really happened to her daughter.

I have to say that I did not find any part of the mystery that mysterious. It did not take me very long at all to figure out what happened to Ellie and how various characters connected to it. I didn’t really care that I wasn’t surprised, though.  The play of alternating timelines and how the information was revealed, as well as the character development really made up for any lack of twist.

Overall, I really enjoyed Then She Was Gone. Once I started it I never wanted to put it down. I loved the character development and the use of multiple POVs and timelines. Lisa Jewell is such a wonderful writer and I really need to start reading more from her.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 4 Stars

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “Review: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

  1. Your review makes me want to read the book immediately. I’m not a fan of Paula Hawkins (to me, her characters are not likable) but I love everything that Moriarty writes. The book I’m writing now has two POVs, the main male character, and the main female character, so good to know you enjoyed various POVs in Jewell’s book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s