Review: The Honeymoon by Rona Halsall

44419258

Synopsis from Goodreads:

‘I’m your husband, Chloe. We’re a partnership now and we do what’s best for us as a couple. Staying here is going to be the best option.’ He picked up his drink and took a sip. ‘It’s not open for discussion. We’re not going home.’ 

Chloe had the dream wedding. Dan is her perfect man. They haven’t known each other for long, but as she walked down the aisle and saw him standing by the altar, tears glistening in his eyes, she knew this was forever.

Later, as they relax on a beautiful island, settling in to their new married life together, they congratulate themselves on their lovely wedding day, and Dan jokes that he’d like them to stay there forever.

But as the honeymoon goes on, he becomes increasingly adamant. They shouldn’t leave. In fact, he won’t let her…

An utterly gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Clare Mackintosh, and The Wife Between Us.

I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

The Honeymoon will be available June 7, 2019. 

I wanted to read The Honeymoon because of that beautiful cover. After reading it, the cover is still my favorite part.

I thought the concept for the book was really interesting. It sounded like great, soapy drama and I was crossing my fingers for some crazy twists. Unfortunately, it left my pretty disappointed. There were some things that I *think* were supposed to be twists, but they all seemed pretty cliched and obvious to me.

I thought the pace was far too slow for about the first 75% of the story. There were several chapters where pretty much nothing happened but Chloe wondering what Dan is lying about and how dare he lie to her and how she’s trapped. Just around and around with absolutely zero happening to move the plot forward. I also kept waiting for Chloe to be revealed as a real psycho. From the very beginning she comes across as a pretty unstable person and I thought it was all building up for her to do something crazy, but it never really went where I wanted it to.

Overall, The Honeymoon just wasn’t for me. It had a gorgeous cover and a promising concept, but the story was pretty underwhelming. However, I have seen some good reviews on it, so it might still be worth the read for some.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 2 Stars

9 thoughts on “Review: The Honeymoon by Rona Halsall

  1. I feel like I’ve been seeing this book everywhere, but maybe it was your WWW post. I’m sorry it wasn’t good. Between the “twists” and the slow pace, it would be a hard pass for me. Thanks for the honest review on this one!

  2. Pingback: May 2019 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.