July 2017 Recap

I had my best reading month I’ve had in awhile in July. That is mostly due to taking a week of vacation from work where I read 7 books. I didn’t go anywhere, did some shopping and some cleaning, and lots of reading and it was just the relaxing break I needed. Also notable in July I got to see Linda Castillo on book tour for the fourth year in a row and she remembered my name when I went up to get my book signed! Book Nerd’s dream right there. In life news, my dad went to the ER due to chest pains and ended up being admitted for a few days and had a couple of stent procedures done. He had an emergency bypass about a decade ago and has had to have a few stents put in over the years, but this is the first time it was an emergency like that again. Thankfully, all went well, there is no heart damage, and he is pretty much back to normal.

Books Read: 14

Adult: 10
YA: 4

Favorite Books I Read This Month:

33199875  31450759  34064624 30285562

  Books Reviewed: 9

(I can’t even the remember the last time I reviewed this many books in 1 month!)

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus – 4/5 Stars

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly – 3/5 Stars

Waste of Space by Gina Damico – 3.5/5 Stars

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter – 4/5 Stars

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker – 3/5 Stars

The Marriage Pact by Michelle Richmond – 4/5 Stars

Down a Dark Road (Kate Burkholder #9) by Linda Castillo – 4/5 Stars

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – 3/5 Stars

Trust by Kylie Scott – 4/5 Stars

Books Read in 2017 Overall: 80

Funny Fridays:

book funny meme - http://whyareyoustupid.com/book-funny-meme/?utm_source=snapsocial

July 7

I'm pretty sure I give this look to anyone who interrupts me while I'm reading. http://amzn.to/2qWZ2qa

July 14

You know, like social gatherings.

July 21

Other Posts:

June 2017 Recap

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2017

Get to Know Me Tag

Reviewing the Unreviewed: July 201

Book News:

The Raven Cycle TV Show Being Developed for Syfy

The Raven Cycle being adapted for tv is a little bit of old news, but it was announced that it is going to by on the SyFy network and that Catherine Hardwicke is producing. Fangirls will remember Hardwicke as the director of the first Twilight movie and I have to admit this makes me a little skeptical of how good the Raven Cycle will be. Fingers crossed, though!

Looking Forward to August:

33199875  31450561

I’m very excited to go to two different book events with my book buddy, Amanda, this month. We are going to see both Karin Slaughter and Lisa Scottoline!

15 thoughts on “July 2017 Recap

  1. First of all, I’m so glad to hear your dad is feeling better! That’s great news!
    Your vacation week sounds like heaven. I took vacation but didn’t get one book read that week. Figures, right?! I miss the days when I used to be able to sit and read a book cover to cover in one day. That hasn’t happened since I had Sunnie, so 7 years! Lol
    Awesome month of reading!! I ordered The Good Daughter from Book Depository and it’s on it’s way to my house! Can’t wait to read it!!

    • Thanks! It was a great vacation. And living alone definitely lends itself to more uninterrupted reading time lol. I hope you love The Good Daughter. I thought it was a little different than her other books, but I enjoyed it. I’m really looking forward to getting my copy signed!!

  2. Good to hear your dad is feeling better! And it looks like you were able to read some pretty good books in July! I can’t wait to get a copy of The Good Daughter.

  3. Sorry to hear about your dad but glad he’s now okay. Sounds like you’ve had a busy time reading books. I’m struggling to find the time at the moment, sigh, with my book launch set for August 26th!

  4. Pingback: August 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

