Convince me to buy a Kindle


I bought a Nook a few years ago and I have loved it. It’s basically my favorite thing in life. However, sometimes the things we love hurt us.

Because I have an older version of the Nook that doesn’t connect to the internet (other than the Nook store), I have to download library books on my computer and transfer them to my Nook via Adobe Digital Editions. When it works, it’s easy. Unfortunately, it doesn’t always work. On several occasions I get error messages for no apparent reason. I discovered a fix for it in the past, but after trying it several times last night, it still wasn’t working. After much tears and prayer, I decided to try it one last time and it fixed it. I am feeling pretty fed up with the whole thing, though.

Only poor bookworms can understand how important it is to have access to library books. And only poor bookworms with major anxiety can understand how important e-library books are. I don’t want to go through this experience again, so I am really thinking it’s time for a new e-reader. I thought about a newer version of the Nook, but I have read that some of them have had lots of problems with getting books from Overdrive so it might be time for a Kindle.

I don’t want anything fancy, so I’m not interested in the Kindle Fire. I prefer it not to be backlit either, as it kind of hurts my eyes. So, my questions to you, that I really hope I get some responses on, are:

  1. What model of Kindle do you have?
  2. Do you get library books on it? If so, have you had any problems with it?
  3. Do you pay for Kindle Unlimited? If so, have you found it to be worth the money? And if you are familiar with the type of books I like, do you think it would be worth my money?
  4. Have you used any other brand of e-reader? How do they compare?

I’m very hesitant about switching from Nook to Kindle, so if you love your Kindle, please convince me why I would too.

41 thoughts on “Convince me to buy a Kindle

  1. 1. Kindle Paperwhite
    2.Yes. I haven’t had any problems since I set it up. They download straight to my Kindle.
    3.I don’t do Kindle Unlimited, but I probably should. Everyone I’ve talked to says it’s worth it. You could surf Amazon’s books. Look up ones you like and see if they have the Kindle Unlimited option.
    4. I haven’t used another brand. I wouldn’t get a Fire, though. That’s like reading on a computer screen. A paperwhite is more like a book.
    5. I would highly recommend the paperwhite. I love it. The back lighting is amazing. You can adjust it lighter or darker. It makes it easy to read outside, inside, light or dark.

  2. Oh boy, one of my favorite topics! I have a Kindle Paperwhite (I’m not sure on the generation) and I used to have a Kindle Touch. I have absolutely LOVED my Kindles! I use Overdrive regularly and have never had problems downloading books. Every once in a while it won’t sense that there’s a new book to download, but that problem doesn’t ever last long. I tend to keep my Paperwhite’s light off as to not waste the battery when I don’t need it–so that’s an option if the light hurts your eyes. I also keep Airplane mode on for the same reason–to conserve battery. I tried Kindle Unlimited for a bit when there was some kind of promotion. Honestly, it was nice, but at the time (this was a few years ago) the selection wasn’t the BEST and there are so many other books to read through Overdrive etc. that I wouldn’t say it’s worth it. Hopefully this info is helpful, def let me know if you have other questions!

    • Thank you! I like that there’s an option to turn the light off. And I really like to hear that there’s no problems with Overdrive. That’s it’s biggest selling point to me right now. Thanks for all your input! If I get closer to buying one and have more questions I will let you know.

  3. Hey Stephanie I’m glad I’m not the only one who had this problem, well sort of anyways.
    I had a Nook Color and when it decided to quit working I bought a Kindle Paperwhite , which then of course the Nook started working again after! However, I have never had an issue with the Kindle and use it for library books more than anything which I’ve also never had a problem downloading. I have to honestly say I love it a lot more than my old Nook. Hope that kind of helps you out, I also hope if you decide to get one that you enjoy it as much as I do! 😁

    • It’s good to hear from someone who’s used both Nook and Kindle. It says a lot that you prefer the Kindle out of the two. One of my biggest concerns is all the books I’ve bought for my Nook. I’m trying to tell myself I can just put the nook on my shelf like any other book and bring it back out when I want to re-read one. Thanks for your input!

  4. My kindle is so old that it at least one generation before there even was a paperwhite. After many years, it’s still going strong. I don’t have any problems getting books from Overdrive. What I really like about it is, if I haven’t finished a book by the time it’s due on Overdrive, I turn the kindle to airplane mode and shut down wifi access. That way, the book isn’t automatically returned until I’ve finished it.

    • Oh the airplane mode trick is a good idea! I’ll need to keep that in mind. I have to say that everyone saying they haven’t had any problems with Overdrive is a major selling point to me right now. Thanks for your input!

  5. I have a kindle fire 8 inch its perfect and does everything Ipad can do apart from NowTv but i’m sure that will change soon! I don’t do library books anymore mainly cause I have too much to read on my shelf! I do and I also love it although I would like them to sort out the payment or such issues they have with publishers! but in terms of crime genre its so good and fantasy and YA! I don’t but mainly cause I wanted a cheaper and android version of an Ipad cause although i love my mac it occasionally gets on my nerves! I think its a good cheaper investment to get a kindle fire 8 inch as the reading is the perfect size, great sound when I am listening to audiobook and i can easily watch movies and tv shows on it and its easier to transfer ebooks i have been sent and some publishers prefer to send ebooks now so its worth it!

    • I don’t think I want to go the tablet route, but I have a friend who has a Kindle Fire and absolutely loves it. I know what you mean about having too many books on your shelf. It still doesn’t stop me from getting library books, though, haha. Thanks for your input!

  6. I use the Kindle 4, the old one, I got it as a present and it works so well. I don’t read library books because hre in Spain we don’t have that ebook service I think. Haven’t tried Kindle Unlimited 😦

  7. I switched from Nook to Kindle a few years back. My main reason was to read arcs easier since I had to use the Adobe digital editions as well. I have the Paperwhite and I love it. It’s lighter and smaller. It’s easy to use and download, but my favorite thing is how it links to goodreads and my amazon account for easy updating. It’s wifi enabled so I can download books practically anywhere, except, you know, the wilderness. I loved my Nook but I’m glad I switched to kindle. Plus, there are book deals for Kindle that aren’t always offered for Nook.

    • You’re the second person who has said they used to have a Nook and prefer the Kindle now. The Paperwhite version seems to be the favorite, as well. Do you find that you still use your Nook at all to read the books you have on there? Or do you mostly ignore it now. I think my biggest hesitation is all the Nook books I’ve bought. Thanks for your input!

  8. Steph, I can’t recommend the Kindle enough. I know it’s pricey, but the investment pays off. If you ever take any advice from me, let it be this one. Buy a Kindle. I swear you’ll love it. I love mine and never leave home without it. I’ve been using Kindles for 7 years and never have issues.
    I have the Paperwhite. It’s fantastic. But if you’re looking to spend less, the Kindle Touch will do the same job for less money and just less storage. It doesn’t have all the fancy features, but if all you want to do is get books from the library, it’ll work. But if you’re willing to spend a little and treat yourself, get the Paperwhite. You won’t regret it. It’s light. It has the backlight to read in the dark. It reads like a book (do NOT get a Kindle Fire. that’s just a computer screen/iPad and hurts your eyes).
    Yes, you can get library books on it. I used to all the time. I don’t use Kindle Unlimited, but I do have Prime and get discounts and one free book a month. I don’t use the Unlimited because I get so many books from Netgalley that I would never read them all. But I hear Unlimited is a great thing to have.
    I’ve been a huge Kindle fan for years, and I promise you’ll love it! And Amazon has great customer service. If for some reason you did have any issues, they would send you a new one or fix whatever is wrong. But that rarely happens. I did have to get a replacement Kindle Fire for my daughter a few months ago because hers just stopped working, and they sent me a new one no questions asked. They are great to work with.
    Buy a Kindle Paperwhite. Right now!!

    • Well, if I do end up buying a Kindle then I think Amazon should pay you a commission! That is one very convincing pitch right there! I like to hear that they have good customer service. I have never been impressed with B&N’s customer service (and definitely not Adobe’s!!). I’ve never heard that you get a free book a month with Prime. Do you get to pick a book? Or do they just send you give you something random? Thank you for all your input! I am really considering the Paperwhite.

      • I’m happy to help! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Yes, with Pride you’ll get an email once a month and I think it’s called First to Read or something. They’ll give you 4 or 5 book options from all different genres. Books they’re promoting and sometimes they’re authors I actually know. You get to pick one for free. And I think get the others at a discounted rate. It’s pretty cool. I look forward to picking my book each month. When you buy a Kindle I think you’ll get Prime for free for the first month. Maybe it’s longer. I can’t remember. It’s worth checking out. I love Prime. Free two day shipping. I use the Music unlimited – for Prime members it’s around $7 a month for unlimited music. New stuff too. I love Prime! I never have to go to the store anymore. Lol.
        And you can get tons of free Kindle books. They’re a top 100 free books list. I look at it once in awhile and when I see familiar authors I’ll grab their books for free.

      • I definitely like the idea of not needing to go to the store haha. For some reason a long time ago I kind of decided I hated Amazon (I was on a small/local business kick and hating corporations I think) and I still have a bit of weird prejudice against it – not that I’ve never used it, but I’ve really resisted the whole Prime and Kindle thing. But, I do a great deal of shopping online these days anyways and I’m being vey unhappy with my Nook (which is more Adobe’s fault then anything, but still), so I think it’s probably time for me to get on the Amazon train. There are a lot free Nook Books, too, but I have noticed that there are often more deals on Kindle than Nook. I like the First to Read deal, too. You have given me a lot to think about!

  9. I have the Paperwhite and I love it! I had the Kindle Fire and ended up giving it to a friend. It was way more Kindle than I needed.

    I did a trial with Kindle Unlimited and I’m not sure if it’s worth it. I had too many books for review at the time and couldn’t take full advantage of it. The selection was rather large though – especially if you love romance.

    Something to keep in mind if you have Prime. Every summer – I think July? they have huge discounts on their different subscriptions and e-readers. I think it was 40% for Unlimited in 2016. That’s when I’m going to sign up if they do it again this year.

    For What It’s Worth

    • Thanks for the heads up about July. Maybe I’ll wait and see if the Paperwhite goes on sale – that seems to be most people’s favorites. I haven’t seen a lot of people really utilizing Kindle Unlimited. I like the occasional romance, but it’s not my go-to genre. Thanks for the input!

  10. 1. Kindle Paperwhite (which is the backlight version & you can’t turn it off completely but when it is on its lowest setting you really can’t tell that it’s on)

    2. In Canada, we don’t have Kindle options for our eBooks since they are all ePub (so that’s why I’ve always had a Kobo since I started eReading). I had an issue with Adobe Digital Editions a few months ago–I think it updated without me knowing and it wouldn’t connect to my Kobo. So I found an older version of it and it has been working flawlessly ever since. I’m not sure if you tried that but that was the trick for me!

    3. I did the free trial of Kindle Unlimited and I could see the appeal (I wrote about it forever ago). My best suggestion is check ahead of time to see if any of the titles interest you (Amazon has great filtering options so you can find the unlimited titles. I’m sure you can find something you enjoy knowing–they have a ton of romance options and that’s what I mostly read!

    4. I’ve had a Kobo for years and am extremely loyal to it. Truthfully, I only have a Kindle because I got a really good deal. Right now I have a Kobo Aura which does have a backlight (but you can turn it off completely) and I find the interface a lot easier to navigate. It uses Adobe Digital Editions for library books but the Kobo books can sync over the internet or through a desktop app. The only lacking thing is that they don’t have as large of a collection as Kindle does BUT, they offer a price match guarantee in the off chance that it’s cheaper on Kindle (which doesn’t happen all that often but on occasion it does) so that helps a lot.

    • My condolences that you have to use Adobe Digital Editions too. 95% of the time it works fine, but it’s when it stops working for no apparent reason that makes me want to throw things. I had version 3 I think of ADE, which isn’t the newest version, when it stopped working. I tried installing the newer version and it didn’t work, so I went back to 3, which eventually worked again. I’ve never used a Kobo, but I know what you mean about liking the interface better. I have a Kindle app and I like my Nook app a whole lot more. But I hate reading on apps, so I don’t use them that often. Your post about Kindle Unlimited was great! I think that I would try it if there was a free trial, but I don’t think it’s anything I would pay for. Thanks for all your input!

      • Anytime!

        I agree with the free trial thing. A lot of the books I would buy aren’t Unlimited titles so it isn’t really worth it for me right now–especially with the library. Where it has been really helpful is when I have some “meh” series that I do want to finish but I don’t really want to buy the books. It’s nice getting those sequels out of the way.

  11. I have an older Kindle Fire that still works rather well, but I am currently just using the Kindle app on my Samsung Galaxy Tab and still love it (I cannot tell a difference between the app and my actual Kindle). I find it much easier to navigate and read than a nook. I have fluctuating eyes and the text and brightness adjustments are fantastic. I do not pay for Kinle Unlimited, but do have Prime Reading. I love it. I use Overdrive for libraries books and never have an issue. I find sharing and downloading to be incredibly easy.

  12. I have always been hesitant to buy a regular kindle because my library doesn’t carry many kindle format books and I didn’t want to limit myself. I didn’t realize I could use overdrive too. Do you have to file transfer books from overdrive via the computer for the paperwhite? I used to have a Nook tablet and I hated doing the file transfer. I had trouble with Adobe Digital Editions so I switched to the Kindle Fire. I was a lot happier with Overdrive and the ability to download right from the app on the tablet without any need to hook it up to the computer. Unfortunately, I hated the Kindle Fire because I had so many issues with the multiple devices I had to get. I switched to a Samsung Galaxy Tablet and I love it. All I have ever had is tablets, so I got used to using it instead of my laptop but the battery life is not great and because I read a lot, I have to charge it often.

    • From what I hear everybody saying you don’t have to hook anything up to get a library book from Overdrive on your Kindle, it’s just sent straight to the device. I don’t mind having to hook up my Nook to download the library books, but it’s when Adobe Digital Editions stops working that my world comes crumbling down haha. I don’t really want a tablet, but I’m really leaning towards a Paperwhite.

  13. I currently have a Kindle Fire, but do keep thinking about getting a Paperwhite….!!!!

    Actually, although I’ve seen in the comments that several people diss reading on the Fire, I haven’t had any issues. I’ve set my books to always be with a beige background instead of the bright white, and that helps a lot. I will say that I still really prefer physical books, so I probably only do maybe 20-25% of my reading on the Kindle. Maybe if I did the majority of my reading on the Kindle I would notice the strain.

    I do love that I have the Kindle app on my phone and can easily switch between them, so if I happen to get stranded somewhere, I can read on my phone right where I left off from my Kindle.

    A while back I had a family member who was sick and we were in and out of the hospital and doctor a lot, so I bought the Fire because there were so many days that I just didn’t know how long I was going to be gone, so it was great to just bring the book I was reading, plus the Kindle as a backup. I enjoy having random little games and whatnot along with me, too, so the Fire has been a good fit for me. I will say that they updated the OS a while ago and I HATED it and whined about it A LOT to everyone who would listen (and some people who were just trapped haha). Initially, Amazon wouldn’t let me go back to the old system, but other people must have complained about it, too, because I was able to go back to the old way and everything is beautiful again. My husband has a newer Kindle that came with that updated OS and he hasn’t had any problems. I think mine was just a little too old to handle the fact that the update took up literally over HALF the memory of the Kindle!

    ANYWAY I do use Overdrive and have had no issues with it. The books can be downloaded as Kindle books or as epub to be read directly on the Overdrive app. I saw someone else mentioned this, and my sister does it too, about taking the Kindle off wifi until you’re actually done reading the book haha

    I go back and forth with Unlimited. The nice thing is that you can pay for it month-to-month (and you can always get your first month free, so you can try it out), so being my weirdly organized little self, I keep a wishlist on Amazon and put Unlimited books on it if I come across them, and then every now and then I’ll subscribe for a month or two and read all the books on that wishlist. It’s not worth it for me to have it all the time. I do way too much library reading, plus physical books – I just don’t actually *buy* a lot of Kindle books, so Unlimited doesn’t really save me money. Plus, I feel all this pressure, like I HAVE to read at least $10 worth of Kindle books every month, or the subscription is a waste!

    So that got really long and rambly, but the short version is: I really like my Kindle, I like the ease of switching between the Kindle and my phone, and Unlimited is only worth it for me every now and then. πŸ˜€

    Good luck!!!

    • Thank you for your input! If I wanted a tablet, then I would consider the Fire, but for my needs right now I’m definitely leaning toward the Paperwhite. The majority of books I read are from the library, so not having any problems with Overdrive is the most attractive thing to me. I also like that the library books can be sent to Kindle bc I’m assuming that means you should be able to access it on all devices. When I download epubs for my Nook, they don’t show up on the Nook app on my phone. And ever since Overdrive updated their process months ago I can’t download them on the app if I already downloaded it on the computer (or vice versa) which really bums me out when all I have is my phone. I really like how you deal with Kindle Unlimted. It definitely might be worth it if I could spend a month reading books I want from there that aren’t at the library and then not have to keep paying for it. I thought you had to buy like a yearly subscription or something, so that makes it a lot more attractive. Thanks again!

      • I know, even though I really like my Fire, I keep thinking about getting a Paperwhite, too, just because they are supposed to be so awesome for actual reading, plus the battery life lasts forever. I’ll just have to wait and see if they go on some kind of ridiculous sale haha

        I can definitely access my Kindle library books on the app on my phone without any issues, so that’s a big plus. My main problem with Overdrive is the Overdrive app itself; I kind of hate it and it feels completely counter-intuitive to me. Oh well.

        Good luck with your big decision! I hope you enjoy whichever device you decide to purchase. πŸ˜€

      • I agree that the overdrive app isn’t great. I usually just use my computer instead. I heard that there is usually a summer sale probably in July so I’m waiting to buy one until then I think.

  14. Pingback: May 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  15. I love my kindle, I have the voyage. It’s just so convenient. The one thing I would say is that it is harder to find cool covers for the voyage than it is for other models.

  16. We have had nook and kindle. We landed on kindle on using a tablet with kindle and nook on it. By doing this we essentially spent the same amount of money and got the best of both worlds. both have an app. When you get a kindle or nook these days you can get ones that are basically tablets and that’s what we wanted so a tablet running both apps is what I’d recommend. Then you get to keep the books you already have and get more on Kindle. The big advantage of kind I think is that so many authors focus only on Kindle. But even that seems to be changing.

    • Thanks for the input! I ultimately decided on a kindle paper white. I’ve had it for almost a week now and have read a couple books on it. I’m still kind of getting used to it so it’s too early to tell if I’ll like it more than my nook. I might just carry both of them around with me.

  17. Pingback: June 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  18. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2017 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

