April 2017 Recap


In April my niece turned 2 and we all went to Canada to celebrate. I can’t believe how much she’s grown since we saw her last summer. It unfortunately took a little while for her to warm up to us – and she seemed to have to start over again every morning or after every nap, but we still had lots of fun with her. The rest of April seemed to pass by in a blur. Work gets steadily more depressing. I finally updated my resume and applied for a new job, but I got an e-mail the following day saying they weren’t interested in “pursuing my candidacy”.  Oh, well.

Books Read: 10

Adult: 8
YA: 2

Favorite Book I Read This Month:

32830461

Sweetbriar Cottage by Denise Hunter. 4 Stars. Review coming in June.

Books Reviewed: 5

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett – 3.5/5 Stars

The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda – 3.5/5 Stars

One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline – 4/5 Stars

A Different Blue by Amy Harmon – 3.5/5 Stars

I Found You by Lisa Jewell – 4/5 Stars

Books Read in 2017 Overall: 48

Funny Fridays:

Hilarious book humor you'll understand if you have "too many" books.:

April 7

10 Images You’ll Understand If You Only Want Books for Christmas:

April 14

Life without books is like an unsharpened pencil ... it has no point.:

April 21

Other Posts:

Disney Princess Book Tag

Happy Easter

Top Ten Tuesday: Things that will make me instantly want to read a book

Top Ten Tuesday: Things that will make me instantly NOT want to read a book

Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Want to Read More From

Reviewing the Unreviewed: April 2017

Book News

Lux spin-off series by JLA announced

As I predicted in my review of Opposition (the last Lux series book), Luc is getting his Origins spin-off! It’s a 3 book deal with the first installment coming out Fall of 2018. I’m super excited to see some Daemon and Katy cameos.

Famous in Love tv show debuts

I read Famous in Love when I heard it was being adapted to tv. Though I had my issues, I enjoyed the book (not so much the second one). So the show aired and…it’s awful. Awful acting. Awful casting. Awful plot changes. I decided not to watch it again, but then it was announced that the whole season was available on demand, in addition to it’s weekly airings, so I thought I’d go ahead and give it another try and binge it. It’s kind of the trainwreck you can’t look away from. I feel like I could rant about all the changes it made from the books, so I might do a post about it soon.

More Shatter Me books

When I finished Ignite Me, I was happy with the ending, but I thought there could be more story to tell. Turns out I was right, because there are three more books coming to the Shatter Me series. And to really get you excited about it, they will be told in dual POV between Juliette AND Warner. Let the swooning begin.

Looking Forward to May:

My reviews for Seeking Mansfield and The Names They Gave Us will post (one is pretty favorable, the other not so much). There are a few books being published that I’m looking forward to: When Dimple met Rishi, Flame in the Mist, A Court of Wings and Ruin, and Sons of Ares. Looks like it’s going to be a good month for YA.

11 thoughts on “April 2017 Recap

  1. Hope you have a great May lovely and good luck with the job search! Working in something you dont like can be frustrating but we always have the books afetrwards 🙂

  2. You’ve had a great reading month! And your niece is just adorable 🙂
    I’m so happy to hear that you loved Shatter Me – it’s my all time favourite series! I can’t believe we will be getting 3 more books, that is so cool!
    I hope your May will be successful and you enjoy all the books you read! I’m also very excited for When Dimple Met Rishi and ACOWAR! 🙂

  3. Thanks! We had a good time with her! I haven’t really seen any good job postings lately, but today I saw the one they turned me down for was posted again. So I might tweak my resume and retry it haha.

  4. Pingback: May 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

