Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book. You can check out my post from last week with things that make me instantly want to read a book here.

1. Surprise Pregnancy/Surprise-You’re-A-Father!

2. Love Triangles.

3. Historical Fiction that features real historical figures as the main characters.

4. Over the top amount of profanity.

5. “Steamy” scenes in YA.

6. Mocking religion/faith.

7. Notes from the editor or author in the beginning of the book saying how good/important it is (Can we say, “Trying too hard?”).

8. Cheating.

9. A “Surprise” element that wasn’t mentioned in the synopsis – like when a general fiction book suddenly reveals magic/supernatural elements without warning.

10. An awful cover.

What things make you not want to read a book?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

  1. An awful cover definitely puts me off of a book too! I’m with you about steamy scenes in YA. When a YA series derails into a bunch of steamy sex scenes (I’m thinking of a particular series here) I have absolutely no desire to continue it. It rubs me the wrong way, especially because I think a lot of parents have no idea what’s going on in those books.

      • It’s pretty much all of Sarah J. Maas’ books to be honest. I find it crazy that she started her series as YA books to hook young readers and then pulled a switch and started introducing NA steamy (also poorly written) sex scenes into them. They’re the VC Andrews books of our generation I think, that we’ll all look back on one day and wonder why people were so obsessed with them.

  2. 9. A “Surprise” element that wasn’t mentioned in the synopsis – like when a general fiction book suddenly reveals magic/supernatural elements without warning.

    Haha I encountered this not so long ago… Personally, I can’t stand romance covers with shirtless guys !

  3. Steamy scenes in YA can make me really uncomfortable. I know many of us who read YA aren’t teens, but can we remember that these are teens and maybe we should not be so excited to read about their sex lives? I’m probably wording that wrong, but I get the aversion.

  4. Your list is my list. I can’t stand any of these especially steamy YA book scenes. That really bothers me. I also don’t like too much profanity especially if I am listening to it but I admit that if Sebastian York is the narrator I can get past my dislike. I love his voice!

    • Great minds think alike! I’ve only listened to a couple of audio books so I’m not sure who Sebastian York is. I can usually deal with all the language in books if the story is good, but I always think it’s unnecessary.

  5. Pingback: April 2017 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

