Review: Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys

29092930

Synopsis from Good Reads:

A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of THE CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college. And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

I received a copy of this title from NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

Dead Girls Society will be available November 8, 2016.

Hope has cystic fibrosis and an overprotective mother. She just wants to live life like a normal teenager, or at the very least be able to leave her apartment once in awhile. When she gets a shady invitation to “participate in a game of thrills and dares”, she decides to do it, even though she knows it’s probably not a good idea. There she meets four other girls who got invitations from The Society. Together they decide to do the dares for the opportunity to win the cash prize.

I liked the idea of the novel, but it didn’t quite live up to it’s potential for most of the book. The dares, while slightly dangerous, seemed kind of pointless. I was expecting them to somehow benefit the Society in some way, but they were just kind of random. It took until close to the end of the book for the stakes to get high and things with the “Society” to actually make sense. Though I did begin to suspect what was going on, I did think the twist was pretty well done.

I thought the characters were all pretty well done, as well. Though none were as developed as Hope, Krys did a good job of collecting a diverse group of characters that all had their own story going on. I liked the development of her relationship with Ethan and I also liked that the romance didn’t overwhelm the plot.

Overall, Dead Girls Society was a quick, enjoyable read. Though I thought it took a little long for the dare game to really live up to it’s potential, it did eventually get there. Hope, the likable main character, made me want to keep reading, even when the story was dragging a little and I liked how her disability was handled. I would recommend this to YA lovers who enjoy mild mystery and suspense.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 3 Stars

3 stars

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Review: Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys

  1. While it is a bummer that the story tended to drag a bit, the whole idea for this book just seems amazing. I don’t see too many books that deal with cystic fibrosis, so I’m interested in seeing how it ties into the story. Great review!

  2. Pingback: November 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s