Help Me Decide What to Write for NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo 2016 Participant Banner

October was going to be my planning and plotting month for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I was going to decide which story running around in my head would get the full novel treatment, write an outline, do character surveys, make pinterest boards, etc. And I have done none of that. For the life of me I can’t even decide on what to write. So I thought I’d ask for some help. Please answer the following polls and help me decide!

I was expecting a NaNo reference in this episode the whole time I watched it!:

Also, if you would like, leave a comment with your favorite names. Naming characters is always one of the hardest parts for me and I can never do anything until that’s done. I usually end up using the same names over and over again so some new ideas would be great!

Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year? We should be writing buddies! My name is Stephanie1.

When people ask what your book is about: | 21 Things That Will Make Sense To Writers:

17 thoughts on “Help Me Decide What to Write for NaNoWriMo

  1. Best of luck with your writing!!! Just remember to enjoy it!

    I’m probably not a super good person to consult on names… I have a cat named Clarence and a dog named Waylon, and my husband and I have always said that if we have a kid, we’re naming him after two of his great-grandpas… which would make his name Kermit Elwood. πŸ˜€

    However, back when I used to raise rabbits and named them all (long story), I bought a second-hand baby name book and used it ALL THE TIME. Well worth the 50-cent investment – I highly recommend it!

    We also have a tradition of naming all our cats after favorite authors, so that’s another great place to look for names – we’ve had Jane, Laura, Louisa May, Agatha, Debbie, Chesterton, and Lucy, among others. So yeah, just get on GoodReads and click around and find some author names that work for you! πŸ˜€

      • lol yeah we were in 4-H and lived in the country, so we had plenty of animals. For a while, my best friend and I had this whole newsletter thing where our rabbits were writing letters to one another, so we needed so many names! Luckily rabbits don’t need real names, so we would do things like name the whole litter after berries (Mulberry, Blackberry, Raspberry…) or one memorable time when I had seven babies so I named them the days of the week!

        I’ve actually always loved the name Kermit; I had this customer at the garage where I used to work who was an old man named Kermit and he was just the most adorable thing ever, and then it turns out that my husband’s grandpa was a Kermit, also, so. Mom says that’s the reason God hasn’t given us a child… she thinks no one should get saddled with Kermit Elwood! πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: October 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

