September 2016 Recap

September 2016:

I felt like this is the first month in awhile that I’ve been a decent blogger. I’ll never be a Post Everyday type of blogger, but I was a little more consistent. Oddly enough, my stats seem to be worse this month than the months where I hardly post anything. Hpmh. Of course the most exciting news of the month is that I went to one of Leigh Bardugo’s book tour stops for Crooked Kingdom!

Books Read: 9

Adult: 4
New Adult: 3

YA: 2

Favorite Book I Read This Month:

29429982

The Twenty-Three (Promise Falls #3) by Linwood Barclay

(Look for it November 1st)

Books Read in 2016 Overall: 100

capture

Books Reviewed: 3

November 9 by Colleen Hoover – 4/5 Stars

Beautiful Maids all in a Row by Jennifer Harlow – 1/5 Stars

The Vanishing Year by Kate Moretti – 3/5 Stars

Funny Fridays:

Other people should never get in-between you and your book::

September 9

Innocent Bystander: "Know of any good books?" Me: "... I don't think you're ready for this conversation.":

September 16

 :

September 23

Other Posts:

Pokémon Go Book Tag

The Elusive 5 Star Rating and Backing Myself into a Corner

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I want to see as TV Shows

Birthstones as Books Book Tag

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Fall TBR List

Reviewing the Unreviewed: September 2016

Trouble Makers Tour Stop with Leigh Bardugo

girl and book

Looking Forward to October:

I am soooo ready for fall! I want to start brainstorming ideas for NaNoWriMo in November – I’m determined to win again this year (unlike last year which was a huge crash and burn). I have three reviews already drafted and ready to go. I’m really excited for one of my favorite books of the year, This Adventure Ends, to be out (my review for that will be up on Monday).

I’m thinking about going on a Twitter Hiatus until after the election is over. I’m so tired of the hate being spewed – from both sides of the aisle. If I don’t take a step back I think I’m going to end up unfollowing half the people I’m following. I recently saw an author I really like tweet a video that was a straight up lie (I saw the actual footage live that the clip cuts off) and it was retweeted nearly 1,000 times. There were a few comments on it saying how misleading it is, but she never responded or acknowledged it. And you know that is just one example of the media being misleading (on both sides) and people just believe it without ever investigating further. It makes me feel sick. I urge you to support your candidate (if you have one) without spewing hate at the opposite side. Hate begets Hate, people. Rise above it. And that will hopefully be the first and last thing I say about politics on this blog.

12 thoughts on “September 2016 Recap

  1. Great month!! I’m interested in your review for This Adventure Ends. I may have to buy that one.
    I’m with you on the politics. I just want the election to be over with now. It’s gotten so out of hand.

    • Thanks! I feel like I finally had a good month, though I wish I would’ve written a few more actual review. I am actually kind of unhappy with my review of This Adventure Ends. It just doesn’t quite adequately convey how much I really love it. But hopefully it will turn out ok. This election year is just so ugly. I can’t wait until it’s over so we all only have one person to complain about again haha.

  2. Congratulations on finishing your reading challenge! And oooh NaNoWriMo! I failed miserably last year, too^^;; here’s to hoping this year fares better for the both of us!

  3. Good luck with NaNo this year. I love how you’re coming back with enthusiasm and determination. 🙂

    And yeah, about politics, that’s why I don’t get political online. I don’t want to be part of the circus, and I don’t want to publicly be on one side of the argument or the other. I think authors, and anyone in the public eye, really risk alienation their readers/fans etc with political views, especially when, like your example, they’re not really presented fairly.

    • Thanks! I really want to recapture how much I enjoyed it the first year I did it. Are you doing it this year? Or just focusing on your normal writing since you do so much of it anyways?
      I wish more people understood how alienating they can be online! I mean, you can absolutely have an opinion, but most people don’t know how to edit themselves enough to not totally bash anyone who disagrees with them. There are several authors I follow on Twitter that I no longer want to be best friends with. Sometimes I don’t even want to read their books anymore.

      • Yes, I am doing NaNo this year. I’m going to use it to get the first draft of my current WIP at least close to finished. It’s an amazing motivational tool, I find.
        I think it’s a shame when people don’t express their opinions responsibly. It’s something I’m very aware of. Because it’s inevitable that those you are offending are then going to have a negative association with anything that you put out.

  4. Pingback: October 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

