Trouble Makers Tour Stop with Leigh Bardugo

22299763

As you all know by now, I absolutely love Six of Crows and have been eagerly anticipating Crooked Kingdom. When I found out Leigh Bardugo was going to be within about an hour of where I live I knew I wanted to go. But I was also really nervous about driving to the big city by myself. I had asked one of my favorite blog/internet friends, Amanda, if she was familiar with the area (we discovered once that we don’t live too far apart). She had never read anything by Bardugo before, but decided to give her a try and ended up loving both the Shadow and Bone series and Six of Crows and decided she wanted to go to the event, too. She even offered to meet me part way and drive us the rest of the way!

selfie-1

Me and Amanda! (Not the best picture I’ve ever taken haha)

Though I’m super awkward by nature, it wasn’t really that awkward meeting Amanda for the first time (she may think differently, though, haha). We talked about books, of course. She’s so nice and it was so cool to finally meet someone in person that I’ve talked to for so long online.

crooked-kingdom

I got the Wylan card!

Ok, on to the main event. Leigh Bardugo is so cool and so funny! A guy who does pod casts for Overdrive moderated the event, asking Leigh questions and then helping field questions from the audience. There were not as many book spoilers as I was expecting/hoping for. But, she talked a lot about writing process and characters. I also learned that the moment she fell in love with Kaz from Six of Crows was during the “eyeball scene” on the boat – she thought it was romantic. That was also the moment Kaz really solidified himself in my heart (I even mention it’s a reason I loved him in my review haha).

steph-leigh

amanda-and-leigh

Overall, it was such a fun event! Leigh Bardugo is one of my favorites, so it was so cool to finally get to meet her and get my books signed. If you have the opportunity to go see her, I hope you do!

12 thoughts on “Trouble Makers Tour Stop with Leigh Bardugo

  1. You were not awkward at all and it was so nice to meet you in person! I had so much fun!! My only regret is where I suggested we sit since it was hard to see her. Leigh was so funny and the hour flew by. I liked when she brought up getting tweets about the eyeball scene. I think I yelled oh my gosh gross out loud when I read it! I smiled when she said she thought she would be a fabrikator but would like to be a heartrender if she could choose. If I could choose, I would be a heartrender too. She is definitely one of my favorite authors and I would also recommend others seeing her if they get the opportunity. Thanks for mentioning it to me!

    • I had so much fun, too! The seats weren’t bad – I will give up a view for access to the aisle any day haha. I would totally want to be a heartrender, too. I’m so glad that you ended up enjoying her books and that we go to hang out finally!

  2. I love this, so awesome! I love the pictures – you look so great! How exciting to meet her, and meet up with a blogging friend! I’m glad you got to go and had a good time!

  3. Pingback: September 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: 2017 End of Year Book Survey | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Blogger Stats Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

