July 2016 Recap

Free Yearly Calendar - July 2016 - the vertical design will work great in my 2016 planner binder. Will be printing out copies for myself & my daughter!:

Another month where I was a horrible book blogger. *Sigh* While I did have a pretty good reading month, I only reviewed a couple of books. I did have some fun with a couple book tags and wrote one original discussion post, so that’s something, I guess. I met and exceeded my Good Reads Reading Challenge goal for 2016 of 75 books. I thought about increasing the goal, but I think I’ll probably just keep it so I can feel accomplished about something. Not a whole lot has happened on the personal front this month. My dad had another health setback, but it seems to be improving, so that’s good.

Books Read: 15

Adult: 4
YA: 11

Books Read in 2016 Overall: 82

Capture

Books Reviewed: 2

The Perfect Neighbors by Sarah Pekkanen – 3.5/5 Stars

The Playboy’s Proposal (The Sorenson Family #3) by Ashlee Mallory – 3/5 Stars

Funny Fridays:

...and the Lit Police have been summoned!:

July 8

That Would Be Like $1 A Second!!! :):

July 15

I met a wonderful man. He's fictional, but you can't have everything.:

July 22

The exact reason I usually end up staying up late reading.:

July 29

Other Posts:

June 2016 Recap

The Bookish Book Lover Tag

I Love You, but I Don’t Like You Right Now: Pet Peeves About the Book Blogging Community

Among the Wicked Book Tour Stop

The Goodreads Book Tag

Shadows and Opposition (Lux Series by JLA) Cover Reveals

Reviewing the Unreviewed: July 2016

girl and book

Bookish News:

Final Divergent Movie to go straight to TV

This news made me laugh. This is what happens when you alienate the fan base by making the movies almost unrecognizable from the books! I know a lot of people enjoy the movies, but I thought they were awful (sorry Theo James!).

Stephenie Meyer is wring an Adult Thriller

Whether you loved or hated the Twilight series, there’s no denying the impact it had on the book world. I am actually really interested to see how she handles writing for adults – especially in one of my favorite genres. The Chemist comes out November 15th!

Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Trilogy gets a Comic Book Prequel

The prequel comic book will feature the Sons of Ares, the uprising that Darrow later joins in the Red Rising series. I’ve been saying forever that I want to try some comics/graphic novels, so this just might be my first.

Looking Forward to August:

There aren’t any books coming out in August that I’ve been waiting on. On the personal front, my sister, brother-in-law, and niece will be visiting for a week towards the end of the month! It’s been several  months since I’ve seen them and my niece is now crawling and starting to walk a little and I’m so, so excited to see her!

Review: The Regulars by Georgia Clark

27276283

Synopsis from Good Reads:

A fierce, feisty, and “wonderfully entertaining” (Scott Westerfeld, author of Uglies) debut with a magical twist about three ordinary, regular girls who suddenly have their fantasies come true…or do they?

Best friends Evie, Krista, and Willow are just trying to make it through their mid-twenties in New York. They’re regular girls, with average looks and typical quarter-life crises: making it up the corporate ladder, making sense of online dating, and making rent.

Until they come across Pretty, a magic tincture that makes them, well…gorgeous. Like, supermodel gorgeous. And it’s certainly not their fault if the sudden gift of beauty causes unexpected doors to open for them.

But there’s a dark side to Pretty, too, and as the gloss fades for these modern-day Cinderellas, there’s just one question left:

What would you sacrifice to be Pretty?

Wildly irreverent, blatantly sexy, and observed with pitch-perfect wit, The Regulars is fresh “compulsive reading from a bright new voice” (Brenda Bowen, author of Enchanted August) in fiction, perfect for fans of Jennifer Close and Kevin Kwan.

I received a copy of The Regulars via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

The Regulars will be available August 2, 2016

Addicting writing and short chapters helped make this a quick read, even though it was a little longer than it needed to be. I liked the style and I think the writing is what mostly compelled me to keep reading about these awful girls.

I appreciate a good character-driven story, but to really love one I either need to Love the characters or Love to Hate them. Unfortunately I felt slightly annoyed, but mostly ambivalent towards the characters in this book. While diverse (not all just straight, white girls), they were pretty clichéd – Evie: The Angry, Feminist, Bi-Sexual; Krista: The Good Time Girl that flakes out on all responsibility; Willow: The Artist with a Tortured Soul. I also felt the character growth was pretty much contained to the final chapters and was kind of too little too, late for me.

I was surprised at how Pretty ended up working. I thought it would just enhance their features to a traditionally beautiful level, but it straight up changes their appearance into a new person. Because of this they come up with fake names and ignore their normal lives. It bothered me that there was virtually no consequences whatsoever to this. I also wished that we would have learned a little more about the origin of Pretty and how it works, but it pretty much remains a huge mystery that none of the characters are all that concerned about.

While I like the overall theme of feminism and self-acceptance, it just wasn’t quite executed as well as I wanted it to be. The main characters were pretty selfish and kind of awful people and they didn’t really face any lasting consequences to any of the bad things they did while on Pretty. The ending felt way too easy and they’re only marginally better people than they were before.

Overall, The Regulars was a quick read with some addictive writing, but it’s unlikable characters made the book kind of hard to enjoy at times. I wish that the character growth would have been more pronounced and that they would have had to face some consequences of their poor decisions. This book wasn’t my cup of tea, but I think there are a lot of people who would really enjoy it.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 2.5 Stars