Top Ten Tuesday: Time Passes and so does my Love

TTT Header

Welcome to my first Top Ten Tuesday of the year! This week’s topic, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.).  This is a topic that I’ve actually been thinking about writing a post about on my own, so it seemed like the perfect time to jump back in to TTT.

41865

1. The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer

I think that a lot of people identify with this one. After hearing so much about this I decided to give it a try and I ended up reading the whole series in a week. It was also the first time in a very long time that I had read for pleasure. The series reminded me what it was like to have fun reading, to fall in love with characters, to HAVE TO KNOW what happens next. It also had a super romantic lead and cute romance. I loved it. Then…I started reading a lot more. When I went back much later to re-read Twilight, I found myself not being able to get through it. I realized that the super cute romance wasn’t exactly a healthy relationship and the plot and writing left a lot to be desired. This series will always hold a special place in my heart, but it’s one that I no longer love or highly recommend.

17378527

2. The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater

Ok, this is probably the most controversial one on the list. I remember being a little confused by the story, but loving the characters so much that I didn’t care. I raved about this series all the time. Then I decided to re-read it before the last book came out and I was a little underwhelmed by it. While I still adore the characters, I’ve found the confusing plot makes it unbearable at times. And the further away from The Raven King I get, the more dissatisfied I am with it as a series ender.

13188676

3. The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

Another series I absolutely loved the first time around and didn’t quite enjoy as much the second time around. My biggest issue is on the last book. Adam’s complete change in personality was such an easy way out of the love triangle and I think it did a great injustice to the character. It bothered me a little when I first read it, but after going back later it really bothered me a lot.

13644055

4. The Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout

Ok, probably another unpopular opinion. I recommend this series ALL. THE TIME. I’ve said again and again it’s one of the best YA series around. But the last time I re-read it…I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much. I mean, I still like it and I’ll still recommend it, but with a little less fervor than before.

18798983

5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

This book really surprised me when I first read it by how much I loved it. However, when I went back to re-read it before the sequel came out, there were many parts of it that I wanted to skip through. It’s still a good book, but I think going from no expectations to really high expectations kind of ruined it for me. And I was pretty underwhelmed with The Rose and the Dagger which has soured me just a bit on the series as a whole.

Ok, so just 5 books this time. I need to work my way back into it. What books have you had a change in heart about over time? Do you agree with any of my choices?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Time Passes and so does my Love

  1. It is funny that you posted this because I was just thinking a week or so ago about the Twilight phenomenon. I considered re-reading to see if I still loved it or if the novelty wore off. I did listen to some of them after I read them but that was awhile ago. The last time I watched the movie I thought some of the acting was kinda cheesy. My friend mentioned she felt the same way about the movie.

    Gone Girl is not a good book to re-read. I did pick up on details I missed when I first read it but that feeling of amazement when the twists come is not something I could not get back.

    I never get tired of Pride and Prejudice. I re-read and re-watch the miniseries all the time. I love it!

    • Oh, I always thought the Twilight movies were awful (though I’ve still seen all of them more than once haha). I think books like Gone Girl that rely so heavily on a big twist are hard to enjoy as much the second time around. I’ve been thinking about how I want to re-read some Jane Austen novels. It’s been quite awhile since I’ve read Pride and Prejudice, but I’ve always enjoyed it every time I read it.

  2. Ok, this is why I don’t re-read books! I’m so worried that it will taint my love of a series/book. I feel the same way about Twilight, and I haven’t reread the series because I just know I’ll think it’s ridiculous now. But it got me back into reading, and I’ll always love it for that reason.

    • There are a lot of books that I can re-read multiple times and still love (like Kristan Higgins books I always re-read when I’m in a book slump and always enjoy them), but there are probably some I should have just left alone.

    • It’s not a bad series by any means, it’s just not quite as good as I remembered it being the first time I read it. And I agree, I think we’ll all learn a lot about books after the hype has faded.

  3. I agree about Twilight. I read the entire series pretty quickly as well, but looking back on it, I’m not that thrilled. I think it hooked me into wanting to know what happened next, but then I was like “meh”.

    • What I find so interesting about this series is how sooo many of us absolutely loved it at first and then several years later it seems like just as many of us fell out of love with it. I’ve seen lots of other people say it got them back into reading like it did me, so maybe our standards just got higher when we started reading other books.

    • I know! I was actually expecting to get a lot of hate on The Raven Cycle one, but people have been forgiving haha. I wish I didn’t feel that way, though. And I agree, Twilight is a very popular option this week!

  4. Haha, I love this list. Twilight is on mine too for the same reasons – I think it’s definitely a popular choice this week.

    I agree with TWATD. I haven’t reread it yet but the sequel was not as good, and I don’t know if that changes the way I view the series as a whole. It’s kind of unfortunate, but oh well! To better and bigger things. 😛

  5. Pingback: May 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

