The Raven Cycle 1-3 Re-Read

17675462   17347389   17378508

It seems like we’ve been waiting for the last book of The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater for a very long time. In the mean time I’ve been singing the series’ praises and slightly forgetting all of the details of the story thus far. To gear up for the release of The Raven King on April 26th, I decided a series re-read was in order.

Stiefvater's latest drawing of the raven boys:

To see my original reviews, click on the links below:

The Raven Boys

Blue Lily, Lily Blue

(For some reason I never reviewed The Dream Thieves, but this link will take you to it’s Good Reads page.)

Some Thoughts from the Re-Read

*I originally rated the first two books as 3 stars and later decided I was probably too harsh with those ratings. However, after re-reading them I think I stand by my rating. While I could talk all day long about how much I love the characters, most of the actual plot is not really my cup of tea – and it’s a little confusing.

*Each book in the series is better than the one before. The characters become more developed, the stakes become higher.

*I completely forgot about how very much I ship Gansey and Blue! I’ve always loved them, of course, but I forgot about all the super cute moments they have throughout the series. I love that it’s such a slow burn romance and that it’s only a part of their relationship and not all encompassing.

*While I love the way Ronan and Adam’s friendship has developed, I’ve never really shipped them. Previously, I thought people shipping them were crazy because it seemed completely one-sided to me. While I still don’t ship them, I did notice a lot of moments between them that I see could give shippers hope than I did the first time around. And I apologize for the number of times I said “ship” in this paragraph.

*I thought that I would understand all the confusing parts of the story better the second time around, but I did not and it really annoyed me. While I still strongly maintain the characters make this series worth the read, I found how confusing it was to be a little intolerable at times. Am I the only one that doesn’t really understand Cabeswater and all the magic and Adam’s Cabeswater connection and most of what happened in the cave at the end of Blue Lily, Lily Blue?

*I LOVE THE CHARACTERS IN THIS SERIES. I adore them all just as much the second time around. I even enjoy some of the villains – Kavinsky and Colin in particular. I love the relationship between the core group – Gansey, Ronan, Adam, Noah, and Blue. When they are all together are definitely my favorite parts of the series. They are each so unique and well-developed and I wish I came up with them.

*While I didn’t completely enjoy the re-read as much as I thought I would, I still really do love and recommend this series. The characters are some of the best that I’ve ever read and Stiefvater is definitely a gifted writer. I’m really looking forward to see how it all turns out in The Raven King.

17378527

10 thoughts on “The Raven Cycle 1-3 Re-Read

  1. I haven’t read this series yet but I think I will give it a try. I don’t usually like fantasy but I have been wrong before. I didn’t think I would like The Hunger Games, Red Rising or Twilight so I am trying to be more openminded.

  2. I didn’t care for The Raven Boys at first until I read about halfway through. Then I was hooked. I think my favorite may be The Dream Thieves, but I agree the series gets better with each book. I can’t wait for The Raven King. I also agree that this series isn’t for everyone. It’s really bizarre.

    • Yes it took me a little bit to get into the first book. While I was re-reading The Dream Thieves I thought it was my favorite, but I think I like Blue Lily Lily Blue a little bit better. I’m definitely anxious for The Raven King!

  3. I as well desperately need to re read this series. When I have the time…which is like – never. I hadn’t realized, you’re right! Blue Lily Lily Blue did come out a longgg time ago.

  4. Pingback: Reviewing the Unreviewed: April 2016 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: April 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

