Love Stinks: Toxic and Unbearable Relationships in Fiction

12 Hilarious Anti-Valentine's Day Cards For People You Hate. Sending these to EVERYONE I know:

For some, today is to celebrate Valentine’s Day. For others, it’s Singles Awareness Day (SAD). (For me, it’s the day The Walking Dead comes back!) So to combine the themes of love and bitterness, I’ve come up with a list of some of the most Toxic or Unbearably Annoying relationships in fiction.

TOXIC RELATIONSHIPS

19288043

Nick and Amy Dunne from Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

They are probably the most toxic couple on this list. On their own, they can both be horrible people, together they’re a disaster. 

20821614

Joe and Beck from You by Caroline Kepnes

These two are both sociopaths as far as I’m concerned. The stalking, the lying, the manipulation, the cage…

19732381

Chloe and Oliver from Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

Chloe was a seemingly nice girl until Oliver came to town. He leads her down a dark path and they ruin lives (even their own).

*******************************************************************

UNBEARABLE RELATIONSHIPS

15755296

Cole and Ali from The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter

I started out shipping these two, but by the third book their romantic interludes were so cringe-worthy to me that I couldn’t even finish the book. There was so much back and forth and will-they-won’t-they and when they finally got together it was a constant how-far-will-we-go-and-when rhetoric. I found it boring and annoying.

25916942

Hayley and Bryce from Blackmail Boyfriend by Chris Cannon

This could also probably go under the toxic category since Hayley is kind of a psycho. Hayley and Bryce agree to a public fake relationship, but she believes that still means he should do boyfriendy things when no one else is around. She’s insufferable, but along the way Bryce begins to fall for her and this book just made me want to through my Nook at a wall.

24293547

Sang and ALL the Boys from the Ghost Bird series by C.L. Stone

Sang is young and naïve and unbearably annoying and she is befriended by a group of seven guys, all of whom have a thing for her. All of whom, at one point early on in the series, agree to share her, which is when I had to stop reading this series, even though it was an oddly addicting read.

This list could go on and on, but I decided to stop at three each. What are some fictional relationships that you find toxic or unbearable?

HAPPY VALENTIE’S DAY / SINGLES AWARENESS DAY / THE WALKING DEAD IS BACK!

25 thoughts on “Love Stinks: Toxic and Unbearable Relationships in Fiction

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day/Single Awareness Day/The Walking Dead Is Back Day!

    I agree Nick and Amy Dunne are the most toxic couple. I still remember finishing that book and thinking wow that was insane!

    • Thanks! I know, that book was nuts! But I loved reading it. I keep hoping one of these books that always compare themselves to Gone Girl will give me the same reading experience I had with that book, but so far they’re all lacking.

  2. How bad is it that when I read what you had to say about the Ghost Bird series instead of being like ‘omg no’ I was like I NEED TO GET MY HANDS ON A COPY! Hahaha!!!

  3. Gone Girl. Such a messed up couple. Enjoy The Walking Dead! I’m not a fan, but I’m surrounded by lots of friends who are, so I can appreciate your excitement! 🙂

  4. I really like Cole and Ali but I totally agree it got a little tiresome as the series progressed.

    Toxic relationships: The Crossfire Series. Man, Gideon and Eva drive me nuts. Same with Damien and Nikki from the Stark Trilogy.

    Unbearable relationships: Bella and Jacob from Twilight. Probably a weird choice but I never understood why they even liked each other (or why anyone likes Bella to be honest–she’s drier than paint on a wall).

  5. Pingback: February 2016 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  6. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

