Review: Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Book Review Header

Synopsis from Good Reads:

On his own

Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect.

Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years.

The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder vic. And she’d like a couple answers.

Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…

23454468

I received a copy of this title from NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

Thicker Than Water will be available December 29, 2015.

I was a big fan of Kemmerer’s Elemental series (On a side note, I just saw that there is going to be another book in the Elemental series and I am sooooooo happy! I knew that series couldn’t be over!) so when I saw she had a new book coming out, I knew I had to read it. First, though, I need to get this off my chest – the synopsis says a prior murder victim was Charlotte’s best friend, but she wasn’t. It was a girl she just barely knew. Though that murder does play a large role in Charlotte’s life later in the book.

Kemmerer really knows how to write guy characters that I’ll fall in love with. Thomas made my heart break, but he could also make me smile, laugh, get frustrated, and – for lack of a better word – swoon. I just felt so awful for him as he was trying to come to terms with his mother’s death and living with the step-father he barely knows, all while the police have named him their number one suspect.

Charlotte is the youngest child – and only daughter – in a family of cops. She meets Thomas at his mother’s funeral and basically every thing she does after that just puts Thomas in more trouble. While she is capable of defending herself and I admired her for not automatically condemning Thomas like everyone else was doing, she drove me insane most of the time. She just kept doing stupid things and often Thomas had to pay the price for them, which infuriated me.

I really liked the supporting cast of characters in this book. I liked Stan, Thomas’ step-father, even though he didn’t always believe Thomas. Charlotte’s best friend provided a lot of comic relief and I really liked Charlotte’s brothers (I’ll mention again – Kemmerer writes guys I love) and wish we would’ve gotten even more from them. While they could all make me angry at times, they all had a good sense of humor and they were very protective of their family. And then there is JB who was a very interesting character that I really loved reading about, but I fear anything I say about him will go into spoiler-town, so I’m going to restrain myself.

I did like the romance between Thomas and Charlotte for the most part. Though it happened a little fast, I think that’s explained later on in the book in  a way that makes sense. This book is a little more graphic than Kemmerer’s previous books, so younger readers should watch out for that. I generally don’t appreciate that in YA, but it was only a couple scenes, so I can overlook it.

While it’s hinted at in the first chapter – and several times throughout- it takes over 200 pages for the supernatural element of the story to come into play. I think I would’ve liked it to be explained a little earlier in the story. Once we get to that point, it felt a little rushed and I’m still a tad confused about how it all works. It plays a huge part in the murder mystery aspect of the book and I wish the pace would have slowed down a little instead of speeding toward the conclusion.

Overall, I did really enjoy Thicker Than Water. I really loved the characters (even though Charlotte made me angry most of the time) and I just really love Kemmerer’s writing. The story is told in alternating 1st person POV and I thought it was done really well here. While I felt the ending was resolved enough to be a standalone, there was enough left open that I thought this could be the start of a series. I ended up asking Kemmerer on Twitter and she said, “Right now it’s a standalone…” so I have some hope there will one day be more books on the way, as this would be a series I’d definitely continue.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 3.5 Stars

3.5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

  1. Pingback: December 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

