Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

Book Review Header

Synopsis from Good Reads:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

25361488

What a wonderful end to this wonderful series! Winter was just about everything I was hoping it would be and I really couldn’t be happier about it.

As with almost every series finale I try to review, I find it overwhelming to organize my thoughts into a cohesive review. So I will go with my trusty list of random observations and thoughts.

-What started as an ok book for me in Cinder just continued to get better and better in each installment and it became one of my all time favorite YA series. Meyer has developed a rich cast of characters that I love and ship and root for. While I’m sad to see them go, I’m so happy to see them reach their Happily Ever Afters.

-This book is long. In many books I feel the action and the conclusion often feel rushed towards the end, but that is not the case in Winter. Meyer definitely takes her time to set everything up. A revolution is not a quick or easy thing to start and we see every step, every hiccup along the way. There were a few times when I thought, “can we just get on with it, already?”, but really I can’t complain about spending more time with these characters.

The Friendships. I love the friendships in this book so much. Cinder and Iko as BFFs just makes me smile. The sarcastic banter between Cinder and Thorne has made me laugh since the very beginning and I’m so happy that their relationship has remained just a solid friendship instead of turning into a possible romantic triangle – which is what I originally feared when Thorne’s character was first introduced. Scarlet and Winter also became a fun friendship to watch evolve in this book.

The Romances. Of course I have to mention all the romantic pairings in this series. Cinder and Kai’s relationship has been developing since the first book and I loved every single thing about it in this book. From their first scene together to their last, I love them! Scarlet and Wolf have faced many, many obstacles in their short relationship, but they are solid and wonderful and adorable and I love them. Cress and Thorne! We did not get nearly enough Cress and Thorne chapters for my liking, but when we got them, we really got them. I’m incredibly happy with their big romantic moments in this book. And, last but not least, Winter and Jacin. I didn’t really expect to love them as much as I do, but I should have known better. Their relationship also had their obstacles, but they never gave up and I ship it. And I also fee like I must mention that I have come to love Jacin just as much as the other guys in this series. He’s sarcastic and smart and protective and I just really fell for him.

The Perspectives. There are a lot of perspective for Meyer to juggle here and like each book before it, she handles it so well. Though I often got upset when a shift in perspective changed, it did not take me long at all to get into the new perspective. It really kept the story going and with our favorite characters often separated in different groups throughout the book it was necessary to keep up with everybody and see all the parts of the revolution coming together. My only complaint is that I don’t think we got a single chapter from Thorne’s perspective. He was around, of course, and had some big moments, but I wish we would’ve gotten some of his perspective since we got everyone else’s.

The Revolution. We’ve been gearing towards this moment since the first book and it was so satisfying to watch it play out. It was not without fatalities and sacrifices and heartbreak. Not every single thing went according to plan. But I loved seeing all the characters – old and new – come together. I loved reading the strategy and the twists and surprises. And, of course, I loved seeing it reach it’s conclusion.

Overall, I just thought this was a fantastic ending to The Lunar Chronicles series. Though it was a little long and I wish we would’ve gotten more Thorne, pretty much everything else about it is everything I wanted. I loved the development of the characters and the relationships and the political revolution. Though I kind of wish there was an Epilogue set several years down the road just so we could see all the changes that were talked about come to fruition, I did really love the ending. I loved the call backs to things that happened in previous books. I just really loved spending time with these characters again and I know this is a series that I will be re-reading again and again.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 4 Stars

4 stars

 

13 thoughts on “Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

  1. The friendships in this series are really what kept me reading, they are so incredibly tangible it makes you kind of sad you aren’t part of the crew. Nevertheless, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I did as well, to a certain extent of course 😉

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2015 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag 2015 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: ‘Tis the Season Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Book Survey | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  6. Pingback: December 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: OTP Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: Reviewing the Unreviewed: May 2016 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  9. Pingback: Birthstone as Books Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  10. Pingback: Heartless Tour Stop with Marissa Meyer | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

