NaNoWriMo 2015 Update: Final (Probably)

So first I want to say thank you to all those that gave me a little pep talk after my last NaNoWriMo post. I was behind and not feeling it, but buckled down that weekend and got caught up! But then last week happened…and I wrote a grand total of around 600 words. We started a new billing process at work last week (which is about 75% of my job) and we weren’t really trained on it like we should have been and this anxiety-disordered worker spent the whole week basically in a panic.

While I can’t control what happens at work, I can control (some of) the things that stress me out outside of work and this year NaNoWriMo has been a bigger cause of anxiety for me than enjoyment. Plus, I still don’t really care about my story or my characters, so at 26,000 words, I think I’m going to call it.

So Thank You for the support and Good Luck to all those still participating – and Congratulations to those who have already finished (there’s a guy in my region who has over 150k words already)! I’m sure I’ll give it a try again next year. And since I am extremely indecisive, there’s always the possibility that I might decide next week that I want to buckle down over the holiday and finish the story. I don’t expect that to happen, but I reserve the right to change my mind on the whole thing.

14 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015 Update: Final (Probably)

  1. Hmm I know how you feel about nanowrimo causing the most stress outside of work. And it’s understandable that you wanna stop.

    You did an amazing job writing 26k words tho! You should be proud. If you don’t mind me asking what was your story about?

    • Thanks! 26k isn’t too bad if you look at big picture – it’s about 26k more than I’ve written the rest of the year. I wanted to write a suspense, but I spent most of the time writing background and build up and side plot.

  2. 26k words is nothing to be ashamed of. I think it’s a shame you’ve decided to quit, but you know what’s best for you. And I do think that having a story you really care about does help. It’s been harder for me this year because my story doesn’t ignite as much passion in me as they usually do. But I’m a stubborn soul and refuse to give in. Come hell or high water. Your way is maybe less stressful. 🙂

  3. Sometimes we need to do what is right for our health and stress is extremely unhealthy! In the end, we need to do what is right for ourselves, and sometimes it means letting go of something that we want or means a lot to us. 26,000 words is nothing to balk at–that was a tough milestone for many of who had less consuming or difficult jobs. Failure is in not having tried at all! You gave it your best go, and that is what is important!

      • I am participating in NaNo. I’ve almost given a couple of times, but I don’t have half the stress that you do since I’m currently unemployed. I made writing my job this month, and I have no regrets. I did, however, realize just a few hours ago that I won’t have a completed first draft by t he end of November even though I am 90% certain that I will make the 50K word count goal. Not sure if that is a good sign, or a bad one. Either way, NaNo has taught me a lot about myself as a writer and for that I will be eternally grateful.

      • I would say not having a job is probably more stressful than having a stressful job (unless you don’t want/need one at the moment) but it does give you extra time to write. I think it’s ok if your story isn’t finished at 50k words. I think that’s more of a novella size than a novel. Good luck!

  4. Totally understand! I’m a very competitive person, and NaNoWriMo sometimes brings out the worst in me. It’s not worth it if the experience is going to fill you with stress and anxiety. I was going strong the first two weeks, then got completely burnt out. This week’s progress has been dismal, and I only just passed 23,000 words. I’ll see things through ’til the end, but my new goal is just passing my personal best of 30K.

  5. Pingback: November 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

