NaNoWriMo 2015 Update #1

IMG_1631

We are officially four full days into NaNoWriMo! On November 1st (which also happened to be my birthday), I went to a local restaurant to meet up with my region and attend the kick off event. Probably my favorite thing about attending the write-ins is getting the charms. In the picture above I got a Twisted Citrus (name of the restaurant) tag and a starfish charm for incorporating it in some way into my story. I got over 3,000 words written while I was there, which is almost double the daily target.

I’m not entirely sure about my story idea. Last year I didn’t have an outline or anything, but it was a story that had been living in my head for awhile and I was excited to write it, even though there were a few days where I felt over it. This year, I’m not as excited about my story. I’m still getting to know my characters and I feel like basically everything I’ve written will need to be re-done. But yesterday I decided to give up on trying to write it linearly and do a scene I was actually excited about and was surprised with how much writing I did. Here are my stats as of right now (Wednesday night, though this won’t post until Thursday):

Capture

One other cool thing about NaNo that I wanted to share is that we have a published author in our region. She was at the write-in I went to. I didn’t really talk to her because she was sitting at another table (and I don’t generally talk to people…), but I heard her talk some about the process of submitting manuscripts and it was really interesting. I’ve seen her book around the blogosphere before I knew her, too, so that’s really cool. So you should all go check out Naked by Stacey Trombley.

23014838

The best place to hide is in a lie…

I could never fit in to the life my parents demanded. By the time I was thirteen, it was too much. I ran away to New York City…and found a nightmare that lasted three years. A nightmare that began and ended with a pimp named Luis. Now I am Dirty Anna. Broken, like everything inside me has gone bad.

Except that for the first time, I have a chance to start over. Not just with my parents but at school. Still, the rumors follow me everywhere. Down the hall. In classes. And the only hope I can see is in the wide, brightly lit smile of Jackson, the boy next door. So I lie to him. I lie to protect him from my past. I lie so that I don’t have to be The Girl Who Went Bad.

The only problem is that someone in my school knows about New York.

Someone knows who I really am.

And it’s just a matter of time before the real Anna is exposed…

15 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015 Update #1

  1. I think it’s awesome that you’re participating in this. I’ve always wanted to write, but don’t have the guts or confidence. I look forward to your updates and seeing your progress!

    We live so close, and we both don’t like talking to people. One of these days we need to meet up at the bookstore for coffee! 🙂

  2. Cool charm. 🙂 And well done on your words. I’m not particularly excited about my story this year either. And I feel like I’m going to have to re-do pretty much everything. But I’m looking on it as experience, and practice. Finding the silver lining. 🙂

    • I’m glad I’m not the only person who feels this way. I think my new goal is to just have a couple of really well done scenes – or scenes that have the potential to be really well done eventually. And it’s some practice so I can get back to last year’s NaNo project and finish it eventually.

  3. As my 2 yr. old granddaughter would say, “Holy cow!” You are rockin’ the word count. Great job! You must be planning on completing your writing early. Keep up the good work.

  4. I haven’t attended any of my regions events (I don’t think I will have the time) and I’ve been really bad with writing on a regular basis! I only wrote on Day 1 and 2 but in the time since, I’ve brainstormed some great ideas for my story that have me really inspired to get back on track!
    All the best!

  5. I’m participating this year too. I’m a little bit behind with the word count, but I’m not freaking out. Last year I kept getting discouraged when I would fall a little bit behind and I ended up not finishing. Hopefully this year I can make it to the 50,000 words by the end of the month.

    • You can do it! I went through phases last year where I didn’t write for 2 or 3 days at a time, but then I would go in a spurt and catch up. So far I’m a little a head so when I have those days where I’m not feeling it I won’t be too far behind.

  6. Pingback: November 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

