NaNoWriMo Prep

NaNoWriMo

Last year I participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time – and “won” by writing over 50k words (even though I’m awful and never actually finished the story). I’ve been debating a little bit about doing it this year, mostly because I can’t think of a really good idea that I’m interested in enough. I thought about just trying to finish my story from last year because I did like it and want to complete it, but I don’t think there’s 50k words left in it. I want to come up with something fresh and I have an inkling of an idea that I think I might be able to make work.

I also decided to download the special NaNoWriMo trail version of Scrivener. I watched the tutorial and thought it looked kind of amazing. However, once I downloaded it I felt a little lost. It didn’t seem as easy as the tutorial made it look. Do any of you use Scrivener? Can you give me any tips? I’m most concerned about keeping track of word count because once I figured out how to do it, it’s already telling me I have some words even though I haven’t written anything yet besides some stuff in the Research, Places, and Characters sections. Help me!

And lastly, we all know I have some anxiety issues and going to places I’m unfamiliar with – especially with people I don’t know – is a big trigger for me. The two places I went to write-ins for last year are not on the schedule this year. I think they’re still being decided, but the only place that’s on there for now is a place that I tried going to once last year and wandered around for a long time looking for people with laptops and never found them and about had a panic attack, so I kind of have some “PTSD” about trying to go there again. Going to the write-ins and getting charms was probably the biggest thing that got me through last year and I’m afraid if I don’t have some accountability like that I won’t finish it. So if you’re planning on doing NaNo this year, please add me as Writing Buddy! My username is: Stephanie1 (yes I am just as creative in all my life as I was with coming up with my blog name).

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? Are you a “planner” or a “pantser”? Or a mix, like me?

20 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Prep

  1. I LOVE Scrivener! I really think it helps me be more organized, which helps me make my writing goals. I’m doing NaNo again this year. I did it for the first time in 2012 and haven’t been able to do it since. But this year, I’m determined!

  2. I’m doing NaNo as well this year. Third year for me. I love it. I don’t fo write ins – 2 reasons – main one being that I’m the UK and they’re rather sparse here, second being I don’t like being around a lot of people. So, yeah. Home is a good place for writing. As for Scrivener, I love it, best thing that ever happened to my writing life. The word count thing, you need to check to see what’s being counted in the word count, if that makes sense. If you’re in a project based on a template (bear with me, this will make sense) there will be a “front page” I think it’s called, from memory, with place-holders for novel title and your address and stuff (it’s for compiling) – that page is counted in the word count. there is a way to get it to not be counted, but I can’t remember how at the moment. If you need direction, just ask. And I’ll head over and add you as a buddy if you’re okay with that. 🙂 Good luck.

  3. I totally hear you on the anxiety thing. I’ve done NaNo 5 times and never participated in a write-in. Part of that is due to there never being one closer to where I live than 45 minutes, but the times that I could have made it work, I opted not to. I am a shy, anti-social introvert. I mean…I’m not unfriendly…I just don’t know how to be friendly.

    This year, my region has picked up the library 5 minutes away from me as a write-in location. That does change things. And my sister (who lives closer to other write-in locations) has talked about coming to the ones near me. So maybe I’ll go to my first write-ins this year.

    Anyway…all of this was meant to show solidarity. I was going to add you as a writing buddy, but the username you listed isn’t yielding any results. My username is Ruthlyn if you want to add me, and then I can find you that way.

  4. I had been planning on taking part. But every this is so hectic at the moment 😦 I doubt I’d have the time (exactly what I’ve said the last two years). I’m going to go have a look at Scrivener and see if I can ramp myself up.

    • I think I’m getting the hang of scrivener. I do like that I can make notes for like character back-story and then you can use a split screen to have that info open when you write. Last year I had a notebook I was always referring back to, so I think this will help. Good luck with NaNo if you decide to give it a go!

  5. I’m gonna try NaNo again this year. I never finished last year. I think you’re pretty brave to go to a write in. Maybe I’ll try one this year in my area. I’m interested in trying Scrivener too but I’m worried about usability.

  6. I’m a full on Panster. I can try to plan.. but it all goes out the window soon as I start writing.

    Also.. I like some of the features in Scrivener, but nothing beats Word for me.

    I’m doing NaNoWriMo again this year too. Good luck with it!!! 😀

  7. I’ve downloaded Scrivener but haven’t done a lot with it yet, so I’m no help to you. I hope you do NaNoWriMo again. If you have an idea of what you want to write you are half way there.
    I would love to try it, but NaNoWriMo comes at a very busy time of year, and there is just no time left for it.
    Good luck, my friend. Keep me updated on your progress. Hugs.

  8. Pingback: October 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

