Top Ten Tuesday: Movies/TV Shows I Wish Were Books

TTT Header

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a Freebie. One of my favorite past topics that I’ve done multiple times is what books I’d like to see as a tv show or movie so I decided to go the other way and pick TV shows or Movies I Wish were Books. I first thought of this when I saw the trailer for The Duff. I wasn’t really that inclined to watch the movie, but I thought to myself, “I’d read that book.” Then I found it actually IS a book. But after reading some reviews I don’t really think it’s the book for me and I think I’d like the movie version better. Maybe one day I’ll watch it. Anyways, my choices will be stories that aren’t based on books (at least to my knowledge).

TV Shows

Yay, a pic with everyone (except Jackson) before Logan screwed up everything! :):

1. Gilmore Girls

One of my favorite shows of all time. I love Lorelai and Rory and the eccentric townsfolk of Stars Hollow. I would ship Luke and Lorelai So Hard. And of course Rory and Jess. (If you are Team Logan I’m not sure we can be friends anymore).

Psych.:

2. Psych

There aren’t a lot of funny mysteries out there and I think Psych could really fill that void. Plus there’s a very strong bromance to enjoy and a Will-They-Won’t-They relationship to root for.

#Scandal ❤❤❤❤❤:

3. Scandal

While there are Government Fixer type of books out there, I think we can all agree that none are quite like Olivia Pope. There’s enough mystery and intrigue and shady politics and romance to make this series into a super guilty pleasure read.

The cast of Parks and Recreation recently finished filming their final season (capped off with a heartfelt performance of “5,000 Candles in the Wind“), and now they reveal the scenes they wanted to shoot but never got to.:

4. Parks & Rec

I love the characters and the humor in this show and I think they would translate well into books.

The Blacklist - Megan Boone as Elizabeth Keen, and James Spader as Raymond "Red" Reddington, NBC (2013):

5.  Blacklist.

Lots of opportunity for character development, with great mysteries and twists.

Movies

The Proposal (2009) Sandra Bullock - A pushy boss forces her young assistant to marry her in order to keep her Visa status in the U.S. and avoid deportation to Canada.:

6. The Proposal

Because as we all know by now, I Love Fake Relationship stories.

After serving as a bridesmaid 27 times, a young woman wrestles with the idea of standing by her sister's side as her sibling marries the man she's secretly in love with.:

7. 27 Dresses

It’s almost embarrassing how much I love this movie. It’s so super cheesy, but I will watch it every single time it’s on tv. I even bought the dvd when I found it for $5 at Target. It’s a cute Chick Flick and it would be cute Chick Lit.

Remember the Titans - The inspiring story of the successful integration of a high school football team in Alexandria, Virginia.:

8. Remember the Titans

This one of my favorite movies in high school and it would fit pretty well into the whole “We Need Diverse Books” movement that’s popular right now.

Never Been Kissed ~ 1999 Raja Gosnell:

9. Never Been Kissed

Another one of my favorite Chick Flicks that I think would translate well to Chick Lit

The Social Network- This is a movie that centered around media. Although I believe that movies are a media all in itself, this film told the story of how one of the most popular social media outlets came to be.:

10. The Social Network

A (perhaps loosely) based on real life story.

Would you read a book based on these TV shows/movies? What would you like to see made into a book?

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Movies/TV Shows I Wish Were Books

  1. Great topic! And several on your list I love – Never Been Kissed & The Proposal. Both are so cute. I really regret that I never got into watching Gilmore Girls back in the day. If I had Netflix, that’s the first show I would binge watch. I feel like I missed out.

  2. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: September 2015 | The Aroma of Books

  3. Pingback: September 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

