The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

I was tagged for this by the lovely Sarah at The Reading Petal. (You should go check out her blog, btw!) My blog posts have been a little sparse lately due to my Lunar Chronicles re-read so a tag is always a great post idea when the reviews aren’t coming.

How long have you been blogging?

A little over two years.

At what point do you think you will stop blogging?

Whenever it stops being enjoyable, I suppose. Over the past two years there have been several times where I felt pretty over it and thought about just letting it go. But then I read a book I need to talk about and I’m back in.

What is the best thing about blogging?

Discovering new books I probably would have never read otherwise, receiving ARCs, other bloggers, having a space to vent my feelings for a book – whether good or bad. I also love when someone tells me they decided to read a book because of my recommendation. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s cool when it does.

What is the worst thing about blogging? What do you do to make it okay?

ARC Envy and Stats Envy. I will never be one of those blogs that have thousands of followers (after 2 years I’m only a few hundred) and I’ll never be Auto-Approved for all the Most Hypable books and sometimes seeing other blogs that are those things makes me feel pretty crummy about my own little blog. But I try to remember that at the end of the day, my blog is for me and it’s pretty darn amazing that anyone at all ever cares enough to read what I have to say.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

I don’t tend to use pictures very often so not long. Usually it’s just the book cover which I usually copy from Good Reads. For my Funny Friday pictures I search Pinterest and it usually doesn’t take more than a few minutes to find something that amuses me.

Who is your book crush?

Who is NOT my book crush is probably a better question. But since I’m re-reading the Lunar Chronicles right now I’m going to say Thorne and Kai.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Rainbow Rowell is probably one of my all-time favorites and it would make my life to meet her/talk to her/have her here.

What do you wear when you write blog posts?

Pajama Pants and a comfortable shirt usually. If I’m home, I’m in pajama pants.

How long does it take you to prepare?

Usually not very long. Most of the time I’ll write a review immediately after finishing a book. If I wait more than that I probably won’t write a review for it. It needs to be fresh in my mind.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I enjoy it. Just like in real life, I’m not like SUPER connected with people. I don’t have like any Blogger BFFs that some people seem to have, but there are several blogs I always try to make sure and read/comment on. Overall, I feel like we’re a pretty friendly and open-minded bunch.

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

Well obviously if I had good advice I would be one of those super successful blogs haha. But I would just say read what you enjoy, write what you really think, and you’ll have an enjoyable experience.

Who do I tag?

Anyone who enjoys a good tag!

13 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. I don’t think I will ever be the type of blogger with thousands of followers, either. I’m not as invested as other people, I guess you could say. I try to focus more on blogging when I feel like it and that keeps it fun for me. Your blog is one of my favourites, Stephanie, and I always love reading your reviews, in particular. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Stephanie, you have a terrific blog, and I love popping in to see what you’re reading. We tend to read different genres, but I enjoy your perspective on the books you read. Keep blogging, my dear, I would miss you if you quit.

  3. I love your blog, and you’re the reason I read Black-Eyed Susans, and it was one of my favorite books ever. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I sometimes feel like giving up my blog, especially this time of the year when I’m super busy. But I do love it and the community too much to give it up totally. I just scale back until I have the time again.

  4. Pingback: September 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

