Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

TTT Header

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read. I tend to read a lot of hyped books and then get really disappointed in them, but I still keep picking them up! Here are some that I haven’t tried yet.

3

1. Well, let’s get this one over with. I have yet to read any of the Harry Potter series. I made it a reading resolution this year to do it, but let’s be real. I won’t.

To Kill a Mockingbird

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I didn’t have to read this in school, but for some reason I’ve always thought of it as a “school book” and thus it doesn’t interest me.

Wuthering Heights

3. Wuthering Heights. I do want to read this some day. But I have a feeling I’m not going to like it, so I keep putting it off.

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, #1)

4. Snow Like Ashes. I got this from the library once, but I was in a book slump and never read it before it expired. I still love the cover, though.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses. I’m pretty sure this is another hyped book that is just going to set me up for disappointment. Every review I see is 4 or 5 stars, it’s everybody’s favorite book of the year. I had no intention to read it, because I hated (HATED) Throne of Glass by the same author, but I’ve definitely let the hype get to me. I’m next in line for it on the library waiting list.

18460392

6. All the Bright Places. I actually own a copy of this book, but I just haven’t been in the mood to read something so depressing.

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

7. The Infernal Devices series. Everyone says this is way better than the Mortal Instruments series, but ever since reading City of Heavenly Fire, I’ve had no interest in reading it since that book kind of gave spoilers from this series.

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

8. The Cuckoo’s Calling. I own a copy of this book, too. It looks big, though, which always intimidates me. Plus I kind of feel like I should read the Harry Potter series before reading the author’s other work. It doesn’t make sense.

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)

9. If I stay. I was determined to read this book for quite awhile, but I decided I really have no interest in it. I actually took it off my TBR list.

16069030

10. The Winner’s Curse. I started this once, but couldn’t get into it. But because of all the hype I haven’t felt like I could blow it off entirely.

WHAT HYPED BOOK HAVE YOU NOT READ YET? HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THE ABOVE BOOKS?

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I’m not judging or anything at all. I actually understand not wanting to read HP. I grew up with those books so I got to grow as the characters did. It’d be different if I experienced it for the first time as an adult. I still recommend reading them though.
    However, To Kill a Mockingbird is an absolutely beautiful book of acceptance and love and learning, and I would REALLY recommend it.
    My TTT!

  2. I loved Harry Potter, ACOTAR and Clockwork Angel. I really enjoyed To Kill A Mockingbird as well and liked All The Bright Places, although it’s quite a sad read. I wasn’t a fan of The Cuckoo’s Calling and the rest of the titles are still on my TBR.

      • I’ve read only the first two books of TMI and I don’t think I will continue the series any time soon… I don’t like the characters and the relationship between Jace and Clary is simply disturbing. I started reading Clockwork Angel after having read only City Of Bones and enjoyed it much better. I actually finished TID before reading City Of Ashes!

      • Yeah MTI isn’t something I would say you HAVE to read, tho the Jace Clary stuff does get better. The last book in the series, though, has characters from TID and so I feel like I’ve been completely spoiled for it.

      • That’s so annoying! It doesn’t really help convince me to continue TMI either… Although I still might read them since I already have the copies.

  3. Yeah, overly hyped books are often a disappointment. I read Wuthering Heights about two years ago and ended up appreciating it more than I thought I would (though it was a painful read in a lot of ways! It’s NOT a romantic book).

  4. I haven’t read Harry Potter. Thinking of giving it a go. I’ve read Wuthering Heights. I liked it But I didn’t get anything special from it. The Game Of Thrones series is another ones I really need to read. So many books so little time..

  5. I feel like I’ve seen many of these hyped-book reviews of yours.!

    I share similar sentiments as you regarding the scholastic nature of To Kill a Mockingbird. Everyone’s basically flailing about the release of the sequel and I’m just twiddling my thumbs not really part of that hype train haha. And that cover for Snow Like Ashes is everything; it ranks among Claudia Gray’s A Thousand Pieces of You (another hyped book I have yet to read–oops!)

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

  6. I legit never read To Kill a Mockingbird growing up because every single other “school” book was just so boring and depressing, and I assumed it would be the same. I read it for the first time just three years ago and… it was brilliant. One of the few “classics” I’ve ever read that I felt genuinely deserved the title – timeless, beautiful, haunting, thought-provoking, and hopeful. I’m actually terrified about the sequel, because the original is just so perfect, it seems impossible that a sequel could bring anything else to the table!

  7. I’m currently reading A Court of Thorns & Roses and whilst it’s ok so far I’m not LOVING it but I’m only on chapter 6 or thereabouts. That’s disappointing I thought Thorns of Glass was meant to be really good!

    What a coincidence I’ve got All the Bright Places and A Court of Thorns & Roses are the two books I borrowed from the library LOL I’m participating in the #COYER Readathon that begun July 4th and so the theme is anything Red, White or Blue covers.

    My #TTT

    Have a great week!

  8. *splutters* No Harry Potter?
    I didn’t like Throne of Glass either but honestly, people have been telling me how good the next books are that I really have to see for myself. I really loved The Winner’s Crime and I was very…apathetic about TMI. It’s just…after so many books, I guess I’ve lost the excitement and I just couldn’t get into it anymore. Maybe I’ll read TID someday.

    • I know, I know. Maybe Harry Potter someday. Too many raved about TOG that I can’t really believe them about how good the rest of the series is haha. I don’t think you’re missing much with TMI. It really should have stopped at 3 books. The last book was alright, but the ones between weren’t very good.

  9. Pingback: July 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

