Most Disappointing Books of 2015 So Far

Stephanies Book Reviews Header

Since tomorrow’s Top Ten Tuesday is going to be focused on the top ten books I’ve read in 2015 so far, I thought today I’d focus on the most disappointing books. These aren’t going to necessarily be the lowest rated books (though most of them are), but also ones that I was looking forward to and felt let down by.

17878931

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. The cover is so intriguing. The reviews were glowing. This was probably my most anticipated read of the year and it was…blah. The pacing was slow, the characters were not well-developed, and I was just bored. The link leads to my spoiler filled review if you want more specifics, but this book was a big disappointment for me. The saving grace was the final action sequence and the ending was interesting enough that I MIGHT read the next book.

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. Another pretty cover that got my hopes up. I honestly can’t remember much about this book other than I was really looking forward to it and found it pretty boring. And forgettable, apparently.

Vendetta (Blood for Blood, #1)

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle. I’ve seen almost nothing but 4 or 5 star reviews on Vendetta and I just can’t understand it. This book was just absurd. It was unbelievable and over the top and the writing was kind of immature.

P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #2)

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. I really enjoyed the first book in this duology, but I found this one really underwhelming. I felt it tried to be too many things and because of that lacked focus. The pacing was choppy and the writing was uneven. I thought the whole thing felt like little kids trying to be grown-ups and it made a lot of the dialogue cringe-worthy to me.

Luckiest Girl Alive

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll. While the book got better as it went along, it was nowhere near as good as I wanted it to be. The main character was very unlikable and not in a fun “I love to hate her” kind of way. I’ve heard this referred to as “this year’s Gone Girl” and that is exactly why I hate book comparisons.

21897317

The Magician’s Lie by Greer Macallister. Everything about this sounded like it would be the kind of book that’s perfect for me. But it wasn’t. I felt like I was supposed to be tricked along the way and shocked at the ending. However, I guessed the ending long before it was revealed and found much of the story leading up to it to be slow and drawn out. This was not the mind-bending surprise I was hoping for.

The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne. Probably my most anticipated book after Red Queen and it ended up being just ok for me. I’ve seen pretty much nothing but perfect reviews on it, but a good deal of it really annoyed me. I pretty much hated the first quarter or so of it and then it slowly got better. The main character drove me nuts for much of the story, as well.

What about you? What books have you found most disappointing this year? Do you agree with any of my choices? Or did you love any of the ones that disappointed me?

39 thoughts on “Most Disappointing Books of 2015 So Far

  1. I loved two of the books that disappointed you (Red Queen and Luckiest Girl Alive) but I was cringing a lot while I read P.S. I Still Love You. I didn’t enjoy the first book in the series but all the hype made me try the second. I was seriously contemplating DNFing P.S. I Still Love You but I ended up finishing it.

  2. I haven’t read any of those books, but its very disappointing to read any book, spend your time on it and not love it. I hate that.
    I have The Red Queen on my tbr list, I think I won’t read your review with the spoilers just in case I read it. I have heard mixed opinions though, so still not sure whether to try it or not.

  3. Red Queen was a huge disappointment for me as well. I am noticing a lot more people voicing their opinion on it lately. I haven’t read the others on your list, but I am surprised to see A Thousand Pieces of You and P.S. I Still Love You. Everyone seems to love those two. This is a really great idea. Lately I have been having pretty good luck with my reading, and haven’t had too many disappointments. Thank goodness!

    • I seem to be in the minority opinion on these. Nice to see someone agree about Red Queen though! I’m glad you’ve had good luck with books lately. Most of the books I’ve read so far this year have been pretty middle of the road. I need to start making better choices haha.

  4. The book I’m currently reading – The Edge of the World by Kevin J. Anderson – is the one that has disappointed me the most so far this year. It’s not a recent release, but from the description I thought it was going to be much better than it is. It has too many POV characters and the story is so slow. I’m determined to finish it, but I wish it was better.

  5. This is such an interesting list, as I’ve seen so many people raving about Red Queen, A Thousand Pieces, and P.S. I Still Love You. It’s nice to see a different perspective. Looking forward to your list tomorrow!

  6. I have avoided Red Queen because I was so worried all the hype would ruin it for me. I’m glad I didn’t bother with it. And I’ve been on the fence with The Luckiest Girl Alive. The ratings are either love or hate and I don’t think it’s worth me wasting my time. I’m sorry these ones didn’t work out for you!

    • Yeah, I wouldn’t read Red Queen, but most people really like it, so you never know. I wouldn’t really recommend The Luckiest Girl Alive, either, but it wasn’t as bad as some of the others that let me down.

  7. I haven’t read many books that I disliked that are out this year but have read a few that I have been looking forward to that completely disappointed me. The Medea Complex started out great then got so boring and sexist. I am sorry you didn’t enjoy Red Queen, I am looking forward to reading it. 🙂

  8. I can see why you didn’t like Red Queen…it seems very hit or miss for people. I really enjoyed it :p That ending! Same can be said for A Thousand Pieces of You.

    Sucks you didn’t like Vendetta, that’s on my TBR so now I know not to expect great things. I’m just a sucker for rival forbidden romances haha

    I’m reading The Wrong Kind of Right currently and I’m not overly impressed with it. I like it but I’m not very far in so we’ll see how it goes.

    I hope you have better reading luck in the future! Can’t wait to see your TTT!

      • I’m a huge mood reader so I could definitely see me being in the minority with these reads as well if I wasn’t in a good mood when I picked them up. Like, I probably would have given A Thousand Pieces of You a 3.5-4 /5 instead of 5/5 if I hadn’t been in a bit of reading slump or it didn’t provide me with a nice distraction from studying 😛

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  10. Sorry you had so many disappointing books so far this year. Nothing is worse than picking up a book you look forward to reading, only to find it doesn’t meet your expectations.

  11. Pingback: June 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  12. The Magician’s Lie also fell a little short for me.

    I love historical novels. It is obvious that MacAllister put in the research time to make this story ring true of the early 1900’s.

    The plot and the story were interesting. The main issue I have with the presentation is long sections of narrative, which seems to slow the pace down at times. I would have liked to see all that narrative broken up with scenes of action or even dialog.

    The hints of real magic, with Ada having the capacity to heal, felt somewhat out of place to me. There was no explanation of why she had this gift, and the story never really explored her ability. Ada’s healing had nothing to do with advancing the story, which was good enough without trying to inject real magic into it.

    Ray’s character seemed a little thin to me. What in Ray’s history caused him to be so mean? Why did he think that he had the ability to heal? Why was he so obsessed with Ada?

    I felt that MacAllister did a good job in keeping us interested and keeping us reading. However, the ending fell a little short, as if MacAllister was rushing to end the story. What was the final fate of Ada? How did her legal problems play out? What happened with Virgil and his problem? Was he able to continue his career, or was he forced out of his sheriff position? What happened to Clyde? For me it was too many questions for a satisfying ending.

    Overall, not a bad book, but it could have been so much better IMHO.

    • It’s been so long since I read this that I can’t remember a lot about it. I agree that the plot idea was interesting, but the pace was really slow at times. And the ending didn’t live up to what I wanted it to be. I think I would try another book from her in the future because the writing itself wasn’t bad, but I can’t say I would recommend this one to anyone.

Leave a Reply

