Review: Never Never Part 1 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never Never (Never Never, #1)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.
Complete strangers since this morning.
He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

I’ve seen nothing but rave reviews about Never Never since it came out several months ago, but I honestly had no intention of reading it. I’ve only read one Colleen Hoover book and while I enjoyed it, I still don’t quite understand all the hype. However, this book was recently free for a limited time for Nook so I thought, “why not?”

The very brief synopsis does not give much away. Charlie and Silas are high school students, a couple, and they both have suddenly lost their memory. The brief story follows them as they try to figure out not just what happened to them, but who they are. They don’t tell anyone that they lost their memory and fake their way through several awkward encounters with their friends and family. They slowly discover things about themselves and their relationship, mostly things they don’t like. It’s not until the final chapter that something is discovered about their sudden amnesia.

Alternating first person POV is my favorite and it’s done well here. Fisher writes Charlie and Hoover writes Silas. The authors do work well together and while I thought it was obvious different authors were writing the different characters, I liked it because the characters are so different. I liked Silas and his little brother Landon (I hope we get more Landon!). I really didn’t care for Charlie at all. She’s the stereotypical YA heroine I hate – the one who acts tough to hide her vulnerability, the one who is always pushing people away, the one who more special than she realizes. *Le Sigh*

It took several chapters for me to get into the story. I was all ready to give this book 1-2 stars, but then I got to know the characters a little bit more and wanted to know what happens to them. This is a Part 1 of a story that has at least three parts, so there was not a lot of resolution. I have to say that I kind of hate the way this is being published. I wish it would just be one regular sized book instead of several novellas. But whatever pays the bills, I guess.

Overall, I liked Never Never more than I anticipated. The story was intriguing, if a bit slow. The characters are well written and I look forward to finding out what happens next.

Overall Rating (out of 5): 3 stars

3 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Never Never Part 1 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

  1. Pingback: May 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Books I’ll Probably Never Read Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

