Unpopular Opinions Tags

I saw this over on Howdy Yal and thought it looked fun as I often disagree with the masses on beloved book series.

A book or series that everyone seemed to hate but you loved:

Jackaby (Jackaby, #1)

I don’t think “everyone” hates it, but I have seen a fair amount of Sherlock and Dr Who fans hating on Jackaby, just because the synopsis compares itself to those shows. As I’m not a die hard Dr Who or Sherlock fan it didn’t bother me – and Jackaby did remind me of a Sherlock Holmes character with a little Dr Who. I liked it quite a bit, actually.

A love triangle that didn’t end the way you wanted it to. – *SPOILER ALERT FOR THE COVENANT SERIES*

Sentinel (Covenant, #5)

Alex-Aiden-Seth from The Covenant series. I was always, always Team Seth! Aiden was just ok for me. I never really got into him. But, thankfully Seth got his own spin-off..

A book genre you hardly ever reach for.

New Adult. While there are a few that I’ve enjoyed and there are still a few that will peak my interest, for the most part it’s just Young Adult Erotica and I can’t get behind it.

A popular or beloved character you did not like.

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

Somewhere in book 2 of the series, Tris really got on my nerves. And in Allegiant. Forget about it.

A popular author you just can’t enjoy.

Cora Carmack. I’ve heard lots of great things about her books, tried one and couldn’t get through it. Then again, this is a New Adult author which I’ve already said I don’t really like.

A popular trope you’re tired of:

Memory Loss. I’m actually reading a book that features this right now, but it seemed to kind of blow up recently and they all seem pretty similar.

A popular series you have no interest in reading.

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

I’m changing this to no interest in CONTINUING reading. Throne of Glass series. I read the first book and really have no idea what all the fuss is about. I just did not care for it at all.

A TV show/movie that was better than the book.

Pretty Little Liars is a guilty pleasure show for me. While I haven’t really liked the past couple of seasons as much, I did like the first couple. I’ve read most of the series and I have to say I like the show much better.

21 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tags

  1. I know it’s bad but I was going to read the Pretty Little Liars books after watching the tv show! But if the show is much better then I guess it’s not really worth it. Really interesting read, I love hearing others opinions that don’t follow the norm and are honest!

  2. I urge you to reconsider continuing the Throne of Glass series. I thought the same thing about the first book, wondering what all the hype was about. I mean, it was on okay read, but I wasn’t all that impressed. I decided to kept going with it though because I had already downloaded Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire, and I’m really glad that I did! Everything about them is SO MUCH better than TOG. Now, I can’t wait for Queen of Shadows to come out!

  3. My daughter said the same thing about PLL. She’s read all of the books and supposedly the next one is the last, but she likes the show so much better, she’s not sure she’s going to read it.

    And I”m surprised it took you until the second book to start disliking Tris. She bugged me from the beginning of book 1, learned to intensely dislike her by the end of book 2 and I couldn’t stand her by the middle of book 3. What I didn’t expect was to no longer like Four/Tobias by the end of book 3. I just hated what VR turned him into.

  4. I think we all have unpopular opinions about different series that seem to be universally loved. I got addicted to PLL thanks to Netflix, but I got to say the last episode made me so angry. I’m considering boycotting it. Great tag!

  5. I feel that popular opinion in some cases can just suck it. You are the best judge of things that you would love. There are a few examples of popular things I hated with a passion, Twilight series case in point.

  6. I totally agree on the Tris comment, she was so frustrating from book 2 on. On the flip side, I love the Pretty Little Liars books and I think they’re better than the show (only the first eight). Oh well, it’s called the Unpopular Opinions Tag for a reason I guess haha

  7. Pingback: May 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  8. Wayyyy late to the party!

    While I really enjoy Cora Carmack’s books, I totally understand why someone else might not like them. Especially if you don’t like New Adult (which I love!).

    I can see why Tris got on your nerves. I like to think the last book in that series never existed (see, I won’t even do it the decency of typing its name).

Leave a Reply

