2015 Reading Goal Update

I’ve been saving Wednesdays to re-blog my posts from The Bookish People, which was a collaboration blog I joined. Unfortunately, due to the lack of time from the moderator and many of the contributors not contributing on time, it only lasted three weeks. I decided to try and use Wednesdays to do my own Discussion/Random Topic posts.

This week’s topic from The Bookish People was a reading goal update and since I already had it drafted, I decided that’s what I’ll go with today.

My reading goal for 2015 is 115 books. I decided on this number because it’s an increase from last year’s goal (100) and I thought it was a doable number taking into account my new job which has longer hours, a shorter lunch break, and really cuts into my reading time.

I’ve debated on whether or not to include re-reads in my count, but ultimately decided to only count new books. I’m currently at 42 books, which is 5 books ahead of schedule, according to Good Reads.

Capture

Do you have a reading goal? What is it? How are you doing?

There’s Still time to enter my Tax Refund Share the Wealth (Ha Ha) Giveaway! It’s open until May 9th!

13 thoughts on “2015 Reading Goal Update

  1. My reading goal is 120 and I’m at 61. I should probably set my goal higher but I don’t like not meeting my goals! If I had not added audio books, my numbers would not be this high. I listen while I’m cleaning, cooking, working out and occasionally driving.

    • Great job with your goal so far. I’m always impressed when I find out people work and finish all these books. I read a lot less when i worked.

    • Wow you’re doing great! And that’s a good goal. I think that’s about the number I read last year (though my goal then was 100 I think). I haven’t really gotten into audiobooks because my commute is about 15 minutes, but that’s a good idea to listen to them when working out. Maybe it would inspire me to work out haha.

  2. I am always way behind in my goals, because I generally only count the books I review. Doesn’t make sense when my advice to you is to count your rereads, too, as they are books you read.

  3. That’s a great goal, and you’re rocking it so far! Before I had my daughter, I typically set a goal of 100 and would barely meet it. I usually start off really strong in the beginning of the year, but slow down by the end. I’ve found that 50 is a better goal for me, and if I surpass it (I did last year and hit almost double that), then I’m happy! 🙂

    • The first year I did it my goal was 25 but I surpassed that in February so I kept adding to it. I read 170+ books that year. Last year I did about 120 I think though my goal was lower. I think I’ll probably be pretty close this year. Good luck wit making your goal!

  4. My reading goal (at the moment) seems rather, erm, small compared to yours. I initially decided to aim for 12 books for the year – one a month. It seemed realistic goal considering my lack of reading time. I’m currently ahead of schedule so I may increase it as I go along. Your goal is amazing. I wish I could read that many books in a year, and that’s just new reads as well! I aspire to your reading-ness. 🙂

  5. Pingback: April 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

