Burn Out

There are seriously very few things I do in my personal time. Mostly there is reading and there is blogging. I’m still reading, though not with the zeal I usually have for it. But blogging is just…not doing it for me lately.

I finished a book yesterday that I wanted to write a review for and I spent probably an hour writing and re-writing the first paragraph before finally giving up on it. For some reason, I just feel burnt out on writing reviews. I can’t figure out how to start them, how to transition from one point to the next. When I do finally write something, I realize after I publish it that I forgot tons of points I wanted to make. There is not one review I’ve written this year that I’m proud of. I honestly can’t think of the last review I wrote where I thought, “yes, that’s a good one.”

The Worst

I also get discouraged comparing my blogs to others. My viewing stats, followership stats are probably better than I ever expected them to be, but then I’ll come across a blog with thousands of followers or blogs that get more views in day than I get in a year and I just don’t get it. Some of the blogs are super fun and clever. But some of the other blogs I think, “Really? That many people like this? My post was better than that.” (*Note, that is a rare thought, indeed, as I mentioned above, I don’t think my posts are great.) I see blogs that get all sorts of free books to review when I get turned down more than I get approved.

So, anyways, this is just a grumpy, I Hate Everything sort of day. I blame all the snow. I’m going to try to come up with some more standard outline for reviews that will help me with my writers block. But until then, I’ll probably be sticking with random pictures of funny things I find on Pinterest.

18 thoughts on “Burn Out

  1. Stephanie, don’t be so hard on yourself. You write beautiful reviews, and I look forward to stopping by to see what’s new. I don’t know where you live but we are having snow in SW Ohio. We haven’t had near as much as I think we should have, so I’m really enjoying it. My oldest son and his family live in Boston, and for them, not so much. They’ve pretty much had it with the snow, the ice dams, the leaks and everything that goes with such a humongous amount of snow. Sending you hugs, my dear friend. Maybe some fun blogs will get you back on track. Spring IS just around the corner.

  2. I find that taking little notes while I’m reading and maybe using mini sticky notes for passages helps when it’s time to write a review. And sometimes I just don’t feel like writing a review at all, so I don’t. Don’t be too discouraged. I enjoy seeing what you have to say, but don’t beat yourself up for not feeling it lately because we’re all been there.

  3. No worries! I have definitely written reviews that were basically “yay happy book go read it the end”. One thing I do is sometimes skip reviewing books that were a 3/5 for me…those “meh” books are sometimes the most challenging reviews!

    No matter what, running a book blog is no good if you aren’t having fun with it, so don’t be afraid to take a break or whatever you need to do to get your mojo back! πŸ™‚

  4. I wouldn’t feel bad about not liking any of your reviews, you have to remember that the year just started ^^ and you can only get better from here on out! I like your reviews as well πŸ˜€

  5. I love reading your reviews, I really look forward to seeing a new post by you. We all do have ones that we think ‘oh that’s not great, what was I thinking?’, but we do this for fun and to share the book love, if posting random Pintrest pictures is what you want to do at the moment then why not? πŸ™‚

  6. I really enjoy your reviews. I follow several blogs like yours, and this one is one I d look forward to seeing come up on my feed. We all compare, and we really shouldn’t. Your blog is unique to you, and that makes it special. I try not to get caught up on numbers of followers and views – I rarely check my stats – because the point of blogging is to put whatever you want to put out there, and have fun. As long as you do that, then you can be happy, I think.

    And as for not liiking anything you wrote, I think we are all our own worst critic. Take a step back, take a break, and sometimes you see things with completely fresh eyes. I know I do. πŸ™‚

  7. You really can’t compare yourself to other people. Ever. You’ve also got to keep in mind that the blogs that have thousands of followers have probably been doing it A LOT longer than you. You write great reviews. Don’t get discouraged. Don’t compare yourself to others. Be you. Have fun. πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: February 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

