A Pet Peeve with the WordPress Reader – OR – How many clicks does it take to get to the center of your blog post?

Vintage 1970's commercial tootsie pop..Let's ask Mr Owl. How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop?

When I first started my blog, I didn’t really do any research about hosts. Basically I knew about WordPress and one other site and the other site wanted me to give them more personal information than I was willing to do. So I went with WordPress and for the most part, I like it. I’ve also come across many, many WordPress blogs that I love that I may not have found otherwise. I do have one big pet peeve about it, though.

Sorry

For those not familiar with WordPress, when you follow other WordPress blogs, they are all shown in a newsfeed called “Reader”. It shows up like how an article posted to Facebook might look like and when you click on a post, it opens another window, within the existing page, to show the full post. But sometimes, instead of the full post you get the above message. And. It. Drives. Me. Crazy.

Not all blogs do this. And I honestly have no idea how you do this (I am not skilled in the black arts of computering). I also don’t know the reason for it. Does it drive up the viewing stats for your blog? For me, the Impatient American, once I see this message, I often just close out of the post altogether. Unless I am very interested in the book or the subject of the post really intrigues me just from the title and first couple sentences, I’m not following through. And on Top Ten Tuesdays? Forget it! When there are literally hundreds of posts on the same subject, I’m skipping the ones that take more effort to get to.

What do you think? Does this annoy anyone else? Or do you think it’s no big deal?

 

11 thoughts on “A Pet Peeve with the WordPress Reader – OR – How many clicks does it take to get to the center of your blog post?

  1. For basic WP admin, the option is located in “Settings > Reading > For Each Article… > Full Text v.s. Summary” Where the latter is the block of text you see. I wish you could set these on a per post basis but I don’t think free WP gives that freedom. As far as I know, viewing posts in reader doesn’t constitute a view-count; and so people who do use this option gain a view and are referred by WordPress Reader (at least, that’s where I think it originates from).

    These are just my observations and it could be completely wrong LOL — hope it helped!

    I don’t enjoy using it but will make adjustments if a certain post requires discrepancy (although this is never an issue for me). It’s a case of “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” for me since I don’t enjoy needing to use more resources than required to view a post (e.g. layouts and all the fix-ins) and so I wouldn’t wish for others to have to do it as well. That’s just my noble-not-noble reason.

    Cheers,
    Joey

    • Thanks for the info! While I understand the allure of increased stats is tempting, I agree with the “do unto others”. If it drives me crazy to do it, I don’t want to make others do it for my posts (plus, all my reviews start with the synopsis so unless someone is really interested in the book, they probably won’t click on).

  2. People who use advertising on their blog get more money if they have a main page and then make the readers click on the article to read the entire thing. More clicks, more ads, more money. Good plan when you’re using a server where you have to pay for hosting.

  3. Pingback: February 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

