Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books

2824d-toptentuesday2

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books.

Dislikes

1. The Manwhore that changes his ways for the Everyday Girl who is actually more special than any girl in the whole world.

2. Love Triangles

And this is why The Hunger Games are better books. In fact The Hunger Games love triangle is a subplot and nowhere near the most important thing in the books. Twilight really is about how it's important to have a boyfriend.

3. Cheating

4. Friends with Benefits

5. When the plot starts bordering on erotica

6. Insta-love

It was love at first sight, at last sight, at ever and ever sight.  -Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov

Likes

6. The Fake Relationship Trope

7. When the Neglected Best Friend gets the girl/guy they’ve always loved.

8. Protectiveness without the obsession

9. Sarcastic guys

10. Foreign settings

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books

  1. Wow, we are on the SAME PAGE with our romance likes/dislikes! I am also a huge fan of the fake relationship trope… any good recommendations along those lines??

    • I thought Falling for her Fiance by Cindi Madsen was super cute. The Perfect Match by Kristan Higgins is also good (she’s also my favorite romance authors). To all the boys I loved before by Jenny Han wasn’t as good as I thought it was going to be, but I liked the fake relationship part of it. What about you? Do you have any good fake relationship recommendations? As I was trying to come up with some good recommendations I realized I haven’t read a ton of them.

      • Somehow, I totally missed your reply to my comment! Anyway, I’m terrible at thinking of books when I’m trying to, so nothing is coming to mind, even though I *know* I’ve read some… really, the only one I can think of is a bit different, Lori Wick’s “The Princess”, where the main couple are married first and fall in love later (it’s a super fun book and one of my favorite love stories, but very Christiany which doesn’t work for some people). Thanks for the recs!!!

  2. haha yeah I totally agree with your number one. I like to understand why both of them love each other! She’s special? Why? Yep, I agree with all of these. Why doesn’t the best friend who loves her ever get her? That should so happen! Sarcasm is always a plus.

  3. Yesssss to number 1!!! Lol Why do they think every girl wants to tame the ultimate bad boy? If that’s your big fantasy ladies …..dream bigger!

  4. Pingback: February 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

