Top Ten Tuesday: Most Disappointing Reads of 2014

2824d-toptentuesday2

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, is a Freebie! I’ve decided to go with my Top Ten Most Disappointing Reads of 2014. Click on the links for my review (if applicable) or the Good Reads page.

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. It seems like everyone in the blogosphere is obsessed with this series. I just don’t get it. I gave this book 1 star.

Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent, #0.1 - 0.4)

2. Four: A Divergent Story Collection by Veronica Roth. I was hoping that this book would in some small way make up for Allegiant. Or make me fall for Four again. It did not.

Just One Day (Just One Day, #1)

3. Just One Day by Gayle Foreman. Yet another book the blogosphere loves that I did not. I just don’t get it, guys.

The Dancing Master

4. The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen. I really enjoy Klassen’s novels, but this one was pretty bad. Especially the parts where she actually plagiarizes herself from another book!

All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes

5. All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes by Betsy St. Amant. This book had so much potential, but just didn’t live up to it. I really wish it would’ve focused more on the reality show plotline.

Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe, #1)

6. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge. While it started out interesting enough, it had super unlikable characters and became very confusing.

We Were Liars

7. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I think this book suffered from too much hype. It had a good twist, but it did not make up for the rest of the book.

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3)

8. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. Don’t get me wrong, this book was cute! But it was definitely my least favorite book of the series.

The Fine Art of Pretending (The Fine Art of Pretending, #1)

9. The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris. I love the fake relationship trope and had been looking forward to this book for a long time and it just didn’t live up to my expectations.

The Archived (The Archived, #1)

10. The Archived by Victoria Schwab. Yet another beloved book in the blogosphere that just didn’t do it for me. I found it way too slow and pretty boring until the end.

What Top Ten Tuesday topic did you choose? What are some of your most disappointing reads of 2014?

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Disappointing Reads of 2014

  1. I think I was most dissapointed in The Help. Everyone raves about it, but I didn’t enjoy it at all. Minnie’s story, in particular didn’t ring true for me. I felt like Stockett created a wonderful, strong character and then made her act like an idiot.

  2. Oh, no! I loved Throne of Glass. It took about 100 pages to get into, but then I was hooked. I agree about Four though. The stories with Tris there were just boring and annoying. Glad I listened as an audiobook so I could zone in and out while driving. Lol.
    I did my TTT on reasons to read comics! 🙂

  3. I acually DNF Throne of Glass when I first tried it (AGES ago) but I made a promise to myself recently to give it another go.. But.. I dunno. I figure the same things I had issues with are still gonna be there.. So..

    Now see, I really enjoyed Just One Day.. It was the follow up that disappointed me.

    As for Isla.. I will always love that book if not just for the ending. I think Lola is my least favourite in that series.

    Cool post! 🙂

    • Finally someone that (for now) agrees with me on Throne of Glass! Definitely in the minority.
      I didn’t care of Just One Day at all. The writing was fine, but the characters and the ending…blah…haha
      I like the Lola book because of Cricket Bell!!!! But I agree the character of Isla is better than the character of Lola (mostly).

      • I wasn’t sure about the main guy in Just One Day (I forgot his name.. lols) but then I read the next book and it did nothing for my opinion of him. Just no. Not for me.

        I liked the girl though (gosh I’m terrible with names)

        I think it was the setting in Lola that jarred for me. I fell in love with Anna and Isla’s Paris. And the school is just fab!

        Oh! I forgot to add.. I think for me, the book I was looking forward to a lot and then was let down by? Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. 😦

      • Yes, I hated Willem. I had no patience for him. The girl (I can’t remember either haha. I’m thinking Allison??) was ok at times, but she super annoyed me at several parts.

        I do agree that the Paris school setting was much more unique than Lola’s!

        And you were letdown by Fangirl!? That’s sad! I really liked that one, but I can see why some people wouldn’t. All of the fan fic passages got way too much for me at times.

  4. Wow! You didn’t like a lot of books that people loved last year. The only one I’ve read is Throne of Glass, and I’ll admit I did like that one. The rest I feel I need to read because everybody loves them, but at least I’ll know that i’m not alone if I don’t like them.

    Thanks for sharing. top 10 series I never finished

  5. I initially DNF’d Throne of Glass because I was bored. I eventually finished and did like the ending. I plan on finishing the series but it isn’t at the top or even middle of my tbr list. I love Julie Klassen so The Dancing Master was a huge disappointment. So was We Were Liars. I read it in one day and I liked the writing style but not the twist at the end. I expected a twist just not that and I didn’t like it.

    • People seem to like the following books in the Throne of Glass series more than the first, so I hope you like it. I don’t think I’ll ever get around reading to them. The Dancing Master was a huge let down! I’m on the waiting list for Klassen’s next book at the library and am really hoping it’s better!

      • Even though I was disappointed I still planned on reading her latest but wasn’t looking forward to it. My mom and I both read it and we liked it. Now I am looking forward to her next one which comes out spring or summer this year. I’m glad I don’t have to wait a whole year!

  6. Completely agree with you about Throne of Glass. it’s another “too stupid to live” unrealistic heroine. Not sure why being tough = shutting off brain and logic. 😦 I think you got farther than I did. As soon as the first scene ended, I bailed on my Audible book. Blechh.

  7. Pingback: January Round-Up! | The Literary Dork – YA / NA writer

  8. Pingback: January 2015 Recap | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

