Top Ten Tuesday: Goals/Resolutions For 2015

2824d-toptentuesday2

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise!

Real books never die!

1. Read one hard-cover book a month. I read almost exclusively on my Nook. I bought several books awhile back from a library sale that I was really excited about, but haven’t read yet. I’ve also won a few in giveaways. My biggest reason for not reading them were always that it’s just so much easier to carry around my Nook and I did most of my reading at lunch at work. But now that I’ve switched jobs and also have a shorter lunch time, the majority of my reading will now be at home.

2. Read one book I discover from other blogs a month. I discover lots of great books from other blogs, but most of them just go on my TBR list and stay there. I want to actually read these books and give credit to the bloggers that discovered them before me.

3. Read Harry Potter. I’ve honestly never really been interested in reading this series, but I feel like I need to give it a try since everyone loves it so much.

4. Revise my rating system. Since I started blogging about a year and a half ago I have not given any books 5 stars. In 2014 I started a new rating system that I think made me less harsh, but I think it could still be better.

5. Re-read and review old favorites. This was one of my 2014 resolutions that I didn’t do. I really want to write reviews for books that I love, but read before I started blogging – books like Attachments by Rainbow Rowell, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen.

6. Use more gifs, graphics. I always enjoy posts that employ gifs and pictures or homemade graphics. My posts seem so boring in comparison.

That’s all I have for now. I’m sure I’ll add some more as I read other’s resolutions. What are your resolutions for 2015?

 

 

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Goals/Resolutions For 2015

  1. Good luck with your goals. I think it helps to have them, whether we end up completing them or not. My major goals for next year are more writing-related than reading-related. Though I do want to read Game of Thrones (finally!), and like you, I wouldn’t mind giving Harry Potter a go, if just to see what the hype is about.

  2. I like how you specified hardcover versus paperback (unless you just meant a physical copy). I feel like I take more care with reading hardcovers and often ruin the spines of paperbacks; which is why I’d always prefer the former. Now if only costs could be more gentle on my wallet.

    Perhaps 2014 was just a bad reading year for you. I can’t say mine was amazing either, unfortunately, so let’s hope that 2015 will be better for us!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I did mean physical copy, but I do much prefer a hardcover to a paperback. Paperbacks are just too flimsy and you either have to bend it all out of shape or balance it extra carefully. And I think all but one on my actual shelf that’s waiting to be read are hardbacks. I got them for cheap at the library, though.

      I hope we both read better books this year, as well! Here’s to being more discerning in 2015!

  3. Let me know how you like Harry Potter. I was never drawn to the series, but I was sure I was the only one! I read a lot of books on my Kindle, but it is always nice to crack open an actual book!

  4. You have some great goals! I really like the idea of #2 and can’t wait to see which books you choose 🙂 And I wouldn’t worry about not giving out many 5 Star ratings, I’m pretty stingy with mine too. Just think of it this way: If you don’t give out many 5 Stars, it just means that when you finally DO we’ll know that you REALLY LOVED that book!

  5. Pingback: You Can Follow me on Bloglovin in 2015! | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  6. I love the idea of #2. I end up doing the same thing when I visit other blogs. I have Goodreads open and keep adding books to my TBR as I go, but I never get back to those books. I also need to read the rest of the Harry Potter series. I’ve been meaning to read it for such a long time. Maybe 2015 will be my year to finally finish Harry Potter.

    • I’ve already started a list of books to add to my TBR and which blog I found it on. Good luck with reading the rest of the Harry Potter series, too. There was a read-a-long of the series I saw, but I can’t remember which blog it was.

  7. Pingback: The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: 2016 Resolutions | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

