Sneaky ARC!

Haha! All. The. Time.

I love ARCs! I love NetGalley! I love being approved for the ARCs that I actually want! I recently got approved for a book that I’ve been dying for! I can’t even tell you how happy I was!

I downloaded the PDF to my Nook. It told me it was 432 pages. I was loving every page of it, really getting into the story and then it JUST ENDED at page 282. The rest of those pages were the novellas of the series. Since this was a PDF, there was no Table of Contents so I did not know this was coming. WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME THIS WAS COMING?

I was not mentally or emotionally prepared to read the last page of this beloved series.

Has this ever happened to you? How do you cope?!?

 

19 thoughts on “Sneaky ARC!

  1. OMG. I didn’t have that kind of experience. ARCs usually go to my kindle and I also don’t have nook. That’s pretty awful. I hope I won’t ever experience that ‘coz I imagine it sucks.

  2. LOL 🙂 It sucks when that happens with a paperback too! Hate that!!!!
    And you know, I think I am the ONLY book reviewer who doesn’t work with net galley. I see it mentioned on A LOT of book blogs.

  3. Noooo! I hate when this happens. I’m never prepared when books just suddenly end, and I thought there were more pages. Especially if it’s part of a trilogy or series and you have to wait a year for the next book.

  4. Oh my god, that’s traumatizing! 😄 I feel ya on that sort of thing happening. It’s never happened (yet) on any of the titles I’ve gotten from NetGalley, but it’s happened on other ebooks I’ve bought or received for free. I guess it’s one of the downsides to ebooks, yknow? Sometimes you honestly never know what they’ll do to you as the book start winding down. :/

    PS – I’m sorry. I have no coping mechanism for this. I usually have to resist throwing my kindle across the room. Sometimes I am not successful. (But at least my kindle still works! 😄 )

  5. I totally know what book you are talking about! I was the same – I was not expecting it to end where it did. I was eagerly flipping (metaphorically since I was reading it on my Kindle) through the pages, then it was like ‘huh…that’s it? That’s how it ends?’. I just sat staring blankly for about five minutes after that.

      • Yeah, I think it was the unexpectedness of it that threw me too. I normally do not mind open endings much but this was a bit jarring even though up until then I was really enjoying it.

  6. Pingback: Review: Sacrifice (Elemental #5) by Brigid Kemmerer | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Book Related Problems I Have | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

