Top Ten Tuesday: Books People Have Been Telling Me That I MUST Read

2824d-toptentuesday2

So I’m doing a Top Ten Wednesday instead of Tuesday this week. It doesn’t have quite the same ring, but it will do. This week’s topic, brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read. I don’t have lots of bookish people in my non-blog life, so mine will be not so much recommended specifically to me, but books I feel the blogosphere insists upon.

Open Road Summer

1.  Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. This one was actually recommended to me on Twitter when I asked for a good contemporary. I’m currently on the waiting list at the library.

Say What You Will

2. Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews on it, but a blogger friend recommended this to me, so it’s on my list!

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1)

3. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins. Everyone seems to love this book.

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)

4. If I Stay by Gayle Foreman. Especially now that the movie is coming out, you can not get away from this book.

Maybe Someday

5. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover. I feel like everyone everywhere loves Colleen Hoover and I have yet to read anything by her.

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1)

6. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. Another book with nothing but glowing reviews.

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

7. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. Everybody says this series is better than the Mortal Instruments so I always meant to read it. But now that City of Heavenly Fire has spoiled some major things for me, I’m not in such a hurry to read it.

This is What Happy Looks Like

8. This is What Happy Looks Like – or Any other Jennifer E. Smith book. Another beloved author I’ve never read.

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)

9. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas. I really did not like the first book in this series AT ALL. But everyone seems to love this series so much. Maybe it gets way better?

Tomorrow, When the War Began (Tomorrow, #1)

10. Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden. You can’t read Tash’s review and not want to read this! (Click on the review link for a chance to win a free ecopy of this book!)

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books People Have Been Telling Me That I MUST Read

  1. Definitely reccommend The Winner’s Curse. And I think you should give Crown of Midnight a second chance. The series really finds its footing in the second book and sets the course for the rest of the series. Plus, there are some twists that explain a lot about who/why the main character is who she is. If I stay was one of those books that I stayed away from because it was a “tear-jerker” and I hate reading sad stories, but this one is totally worth it, clinging to the magic that is life not dwelling on the despair of death.

    • I don’t know, I might give Crown of Midnight a try. Maybe just because info about the character that was really lacking for me in the first book is in the next. And I definitely want to read The Winner’s Curse.

  2. You should definitely give Clockwork Angel a try. I love TMI, LOVE IT, yet I really feel like the characterization in the Infernal Devices is better. I really expected to not like the series at all, what with the high expectations and all, but I ended up being WAY more invested in it than I thought possible. I also recommend If I Stay, anything by Colleen Hoover, and Open Road Summer, obviously 🙂

  3. The infernal devices wrecked me. I mean that in the best possible way. It’s one of my all time favorite series- I love it so much I can’t review it haha. I haven’t been able to find the words to do it justice so I have never gotten around to reviewing the series but I feel like I need to. I know that the CoHF spoilers can be a bit of a deterrent but the writing is beautiful and the story is so Lovely and the characters demand to be Loved. I highly recommend reading it.

Leave a Reply

