Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

2824d-toptentuesday2

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read (books you may have bought but aren’t sure if you are into it anymore, books you wanted to read but heard mixed things about, hyped books you aren’t sure about — basically any book that has you going, “TO READ OR NOT TO READ?”

Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)

1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. I bought this for $5 a month or two ago, but I haven’t looked at it again since. It hasn’t even made it from the bag to the bookshelf yet. I’ve read such great reviews, but I once read a preview of it and didn’t get into it.

Big Little Lies

2. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I’ve heard good things about it, but I never did make it through The Husband’s Secret.

This Shattered World (Starbound, #2)

3. This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner. I didn’t love These Broken Stars. Yeah. I said it. I’m not sure I care enough to read the rest of the series.

Deep Blue (Waterfire Saga, #1)

4. Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. I was dying to read this for so long and then I started reading reviews and was not so interested any more.

The Mime Order (The Bone Season, #2)

5. The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon. I liked The Bone Season well enough at the time, but I’m not sure I care enough about the characters to continue the series.

Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die, #1)

6. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. I think I’ve gotten this twice from the library and it expired before I even opened it. After reading the prequel book, I haven’t been as excited to read this as I once was.

Eh, that’s all I’ve got for now. At least I made it to 6 instead of the 5 I usually do.

What books are you not sure about?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. It took me a while to pick up Daughter of Smoke and Bone too, but once I did I binge read the whole series! And I started Dorothy Must Die…got about 100 pages in, and put it down. It wasn’t what I was hoping for, sadly.

  2. You should give Daughter of Smoke and Bone a chance. It starts off slow, but it definitely picks up steam. I thought the world building was incredible and I was surprised at what the books ended up being about. It’s not as light and fluffy as one might think. Aaaaaaand, I haven’t heard of the rest of them, LOL.

  3. Welp the quick fix for this is just don’t read reviews before you read a book. I know I never do. I hate spoilers too much. I think what I’ve had the hardest time with is the Hunger Games (I’ve read the first two and need to read the 3rd). I love first person pov but I hate present tense and the way she writes emotion as kind of a summary of itself. I just don’t find I like the main character at all.

    • I usually try to avoid spoilers, but i do like to find out if others enjoyed it before I decide to pick it up.
      While I love the hunger games trilogy, if you don’t like Katniss now, I definitely don’t think you will like her in the last book. I still think it’s worth the read, though since you’ve already started the series.

      • The thing is I want to like her but she just doesn’t feel real to me. I don’t know how to explain it. It’s like reading someone’s diary after the fact when they’re trying to say they were sad but never actually seeing them be sad or anything. It comes off forced to me and I’m really one a very easy reader to pull into emotion normally.

Leave a Reply

