Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Classic Books

639f0-toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Favorite Classic Books (however you define classic) or Top Ten Classics I Want To Read (or spin it some other way…”classics” in a specific genre?)

I’ve decided to twist it a bit with FUTURE YA CLASSICS – YA books that will be referred to in the future for sparking the popularity of Young Adult literature today.

Twilight (Twilight, #1)

1. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. Come on, you’ve all read it. Whether you loved it or hated it (or loved it until you hated it), it was the beginning of the YA revolution in pop culture. It was actually this book that got me back into reading several years ago, after years or not reading more than a book (or less) a year.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This series has taken the world by storm. My whole family (including my parents in their sixties and my brother in his twenties) has read and loved this series. (Fun fact: my sister also works on the Jabberjays.net fansite.) With themes of family, loyalty, courage, corruption, and justice it’s a timeless read.

The Fault in Our Stars

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This generation’s star-crossed lovers.

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. A new twist on already classic fairytales.

Eleanor & Park

5. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. This beautifully written provocative story has already faced controversy and book banning. It’s tale of young love amidst the hardships of life is certain to live on for many generations.

That’s all I got for now! My Top Tens are Top fivess lately, but that’s ok. What books do you think should be added to this list?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Classic Books

  1. I agree with ‘Hunger Games’ and ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ becoming classics. I haven’t read Eleanor & Park yet.
    What about ‘Across The Universe’ by Beth Revis or ‘Divergent’ by Veronica Roth?

    • Maybe Across the Universe. I thought about Divergent, but as far as dystopians go, I compare it to The Hunger Games and Divergent just doesn’t live up. I don’t think it has the staying power that The Hunger Games does.
      You should definitely give Eleanor and Park a try! And Rainbow Rowell if you haven’t, yet. Attachments by her is one of my favorites!

    • I forgot Harry Potter! I’ve never read it, so it didn’t cross my mind, but it will definitely live on in the future! I haven’t read The Giver yet either, but I kind of already consider it a Classic, based on what I’ve heard about it.

  2. Oh hey, great spin on the topic (I did something similar but wasn’t YA specific!)

    I think that the success to become classics in this day and age is continual online presence (since the Internet is forever, basically). With Twilight specifically, even though it’s a has-been…I’d still say it’s still relevant even if it’s a smaller scale. Sure, source material is still a factor…but I’m sure these franchises will indirectly follow the same footsteps as HP did and continue to grow just simply based on word of mouth.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

