Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends I Like/Dislike

639f0-toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, is: Ten Book Cover Trends (or just elements of covers) I Like/Dislike {can stick to one or the other or both!} I feel like we’ve done this one not all that long ago, so I decided to go with examples of examples of trends that I both like and dislike – at the same time!

1. LIKE: Changing Cover Art after initial release.

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)   Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

Seriously, the new version is SOO much better

2. DISLIKE: Changing cover art after initial release.

Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1)   Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1)

While the first cover isn’t great – almost too childish – the second cover is ridiculous.

3. LIKE: Girls in pretty dresses

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)

This cover is the reason I read the book.

4. DISLIKE: Girls in pretty dresses

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin, #1)   Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)

I read these books in spite of the covers

5. LIKE: Extreme close-ups

Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

So beautiful.

6. DISLIKE: Extreme close-ups

Crash (Visions, #1)

So creepy.

Well, that’s all I got today. What trends do you like or dislike?

Also, there’s still time to enter my 1 Year Blogaversary Giveaway! Enter here! Contest closes 6/27/14.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends I Like/Dislike

  1. I’m so conflicted about certain trends as well! It usually bothers me when the cover is changed after the initial release, since that impacts the remaining books and means that my copy may not match the rest of the series, but I adore Anna and the French Kiss’ cover makeover.

    • I usually buy all ebooks unless the whole series has already been published, so changing covers doesn’t always bother me. But I do love the Anna and the French Kiss makeover. The first covers almost kept me from reading them!

Leave a Reply

